Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 06, 2015 - 10:42 p.m.
"goose watchers, broken heaters, fire alarm, and skidding cars"

Hey Journal!

Well, with the crazy power outage we had yesterday I was pretty certain that today was going to be a much quieter and less eventful day. I suppose it makes perfect sense that nothing could have been further from the truth!

Today I got up and headed off to work and was happy to see that the snow that we were supposed to get in the early hours of the morning hadn't come. Unfortunately, just as I got to work it started to come down. Well, I suppose it isn't TOO unfortunate because if it was going to snow at all, it's better that it happened AFTER my drive.

It was only supposed to snow for about 1 hour but it wound up snowing all day long. Surprisingly, even though it kept coming down all day, it didn't really accumulate at all. You could still see the grass when I got home!

Work in the morning was busy because I had tons of phone calls to make. I had to call the heating people because the golf shop and kitchen had no heat at all. They said they would come around noon. As soon as I got off the phone with them, the fire alarm went off! I ran upstairs, called the fire department to let them know it was a false alarm, and then was annoyed to see that it was the SAME problem we had two times in a row over the past month. I called the alarm people and they said they were sending someone out in the afternoon.

They both came at the exact same time and there was a lot going on with that. I was starting to get some work done again when I got a call that there was a man out on the golf course. REALLY? I mean, whoever it is, what makes them think they can walk out on a closed golf course in the middle of the snow!? It's insane.

He was really far out so I had to take my car. There was no way I was walking all the way out there. I approached slowly (since I didn't want to run him over) and I rolled my window down as I approached him. I decided to start with a friendly greeting. "Hello! How are you?" The man walked up to my window and just STARED at me. WEIRD. I said, "I just wanted to let you know the course is closed.... so nobody is allowed out on the golf course." He stared at me again for a while and then said, "They say you have the rare -some kind of goose- Have you seen any flocks of geese?" I was like "uhhhh.....uhhhh....No? But.... The course is closed, so nobody is allowed out on the golf course... I'm sorry.." "Oh, well... somebody else was out here and saw the goose." I was like, "I don't know anything about that....but... like it said...the course is closed......." He finally was like, "Oh okay... sorry..." and headed back inside. Then I waited for him to leave and headed back.

What a nut. So, somebody posted online that we have rare geese and now people are flocking (no pun intended) to see it. The chef said he'd go out and find it, cook it up, and we can serve it in the restaurant for anyone who wants to see it. I put out signs on the course that say "No Trespassing, Private Property." (I wanted to put up signs that said "Your goose is cooked.")

I got back to the office and started to resume working. I was really optimistic that I could get something done yet. And then I received the call.

Someone driving on the road skidded and hit the front gates to the golf course. REALLY?? Could more shit happen today??? The man turned out to be a police officer who was on his way in to work. He came to report the incident to us. He insisted that I come out and see the damage he had inflicted. I took some pictures, took his name and number, and then finally returned to the office.

I called Dan's dad to give him the scoop. I really want to try to go a full day without calling him for something, and despite the crazy... I was so close today... but then there was the gate issue.

Alas, I left work at 4:30 and headed to Home Depot. I had to get a new thermostat to replace the one we got last week that doesn't work. It just keeps saying "loading, try again in 10 minutes." A week later.

The roads were really slippery so I had to go really slowly on the way home. The last thing I needed was more aggravation today.

When I got home I did two loads of laundry and Dan went to the gym. When Dan got back he brought pizza for dinner. We ate and watched Wheel of Fortune and then I took a shower.

After I was dried off we watched Marvel's Agent Carter. Tonight was the two-hour premiere. It was good, a little slow at times, but I'm interested in it. I would say I am especially interested since it's just a 7-show commitment. I wanna see where this goes.

Finally, we hung up our London tube map in our family room and now we're getting ready for bed.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com