Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 27, 2015 - 11:04 p.m.
"lower-than-expected snow totals" or "snow day"

Hey Journal!

When I woke up this morning I headed right over to the window to see the massive amounts of snow that had been forecast. They weren't there. Aside from some snow drifts here and there, there wasn't too much on the road or driveway! They were calling for almost 30 inches and I would say that we got about 14 or 15. I know that's a lot, and I'm happy to have gotten the day off from work... but I just hate how they make such a big deal of things and then backpedal!

The news was soooo wrong and late last night they started trying to slowly lower their numbers. It was pathetic. The city only got 5-8 inches! That's insane to go from 30 to 5! All a panic for nothing.

I'd just be happy with no snow all winter...it does nothing for me.

When we got up, we continued where we left with House of Cards! We watched a couple more episodes of Season 2. Dan made eggs for breakfast and then he had to dart outside when he saw our neighbors, from both sides, shoveling and snowblowing our driveway!

Now, it's not secret that I don't like to shovel, and I've suggested that we pay to have our driveway done, but Dan seems to like it and has insisted that he do it himself. That's fine if he wants to.... but now, what happens next makes me feel like I'm in such a weird position.

First, I'll say that I LOVE our neighbors and I think it's so nice of them to come help us out! It really is, and I'm super-thankful to them! The part that's crazy is that I feel embarrassed. Dan went outside to help, because, after all, there's no reason we should just let our neighbors shovel OUR driveway by themselves!! Meanwhile, I'm inside, feeling like a fool because I'm watching our older and younger neighbors do the work for a 31 year old guy who's sitting inside watching TV! I know.

I mean, I love the neighbors, and I love that they helped. I just don't want THEM to think that I'M lazy or some kind of fool because I didn't come out! Oh geez! I'm always in such a predicament!

Alas, I did things inside...cleaned up and vacuumed until Dan got back in. It went by a lot quicker with two snow blowers and two shovels! That's for sure....

When Dan was finished, we watched another episode and then a little while later Dan went over to shovel his parents' house. Too bad they don't have any nice neighbors to do that for them!

When Dan got back he said the main roads were fine but that side roads, like ours, were pretty snow covered still. They're already announcing a lot of school closures tomorrow... so that makes sense.

I took a shower and then got dressed to go out. We planned to go to dinner at Applebee's! We had purchased a gift card at Target a couple of months ago so we figured we'd use that.

We called ahead to make sure they were open and then we got there a little before 7:00. Dan wanted to watch the Rangers/Islanders game, and we sat in the bar area and there were lots of TVs to choose from. I got the 9oz sirloin with a baked potato and fries. I didn't get the broccoli because every time I get it there it's way too hard... undercooked.

The potato was kinda the same way... I guess Applebee's has a thing for under cooking vegetables. It was still good, though... I mashed it up and put lots of pepper on it. The steak at Applebee's always has a distinct flavor. It's not really a normal steak taste, but it's nice to have something alittle different every now and then. I do, however, feel that their steak is a little overpriced compared to Outback where you get a much better steak for the same price.

After we ate, which was just after the first period of the game had ended, we went over to Miller's Ale House across the street to meet up with Jimmy and Chelsea. Dan watched the rest of the game there and we hung out for a while.

It was a fun night and nice to get out of the house after the big snowstorm for a little while. I love snow days and the first time you go out afterwards!

Now we're home and it's late... we just wanted tonight's Agent Carter and we're pretty tired and ready for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com