Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 26, 2015 - 1:51 a.m.
"the blizzard that wasn't" or "buzzfeed famous"

Hey Journal!

Well, the big blizzard of 2015 has been a real bust so far! When I left work today the snow was coming down so hard and fast. It was crazy, and I was starting to really believe that this was going to be a huge storm! As I got home, though it basically stopped and the roads were fine the whole way.

This morning when I got up for work it was flurrying, and I headed in. We had a funeral luncheon today which turned out to be smaller than expected but they bumped it up and did it earlier so they could get home.

I was happy I went in because I got a LOT of work done. I went through all the mail from the weekend and got the bank stuff ready.

They were all finished with the luncheon around 2:15 so that's when we headed home. I took it slow on the side roads but the worst part of my whole drive home was the trip down Straight Path. I was stuck behind a school bus that was going WAY slower than necessary. I totally understand that it was snowing, the roads looked bad, and you had to drive slowly and carefully....especially with a bus full of kids... but this was ridiculous!

Once I got to DPA, there was no problem. I was able to go slowly but not THAT slow. It took me about an hour to get home from work. Dan was already home... his work let him out at 12:30. In fact, he was in a meeting and planned to leave as soon as the meeting was over but the President of the company interrupted the meeting and ordered them to leave!

In other news, I was BuzzFeed famous today because Arianna used one of my Instagram photos in a post she made! It was the photo I took yesterday of a carton of milk all dented.. the only one left on the shelf at Target!

She wrote me a message to tell me she had used it and I was very excited! I am actually a little surprised, though, because I didn't get one single like or follow as a result!

Dan and I spent the afternoon watching TV. We watched a couple more episodes of House of Cards and then Dan went out to do a preliminary shoveling. It had basically stopped snowing from 4pm - 10pm. It was calm outside and just some flurries. We didn't have much in our driveway, but it was nice to keep on top of it. One of the neighbors, the guy who lives in Ronnie's basement, helped snowblow while Dan shoveled.

We made some frozen daiquiris and I had a TV dinner for dinner. The weather reports on TV are no quietly backtracking from their earlier super-snowstorm predictions.... the numbers just keep going down and down. In fact, they just trotted out a "new model" that shows only 5-8 inches! Unreal. From 30 to 8!

My guess is that we'll wind up with something in between but nothing like what they had predicted.

Meanwhile, every time it snows or we have a major weather event, I always think about the Indians. I think about the Indians who lived on Long Island long ago and if they were just hanging out one winter day and then all of a sudden it started to flurry. I mean, it could have been like Saturday's storm... just a little coating and it's over, or it could have been massive... and how would they know to prepare!? They would be stuck in their teepees for days! I dunno... It just blows my mind how they were able to survive like that! It's amazing, actually!

We just finished watching some more episodes of House of Cards! It's only been a couple of days but we've already finished the entire first season! Wild. It's still a little bit of a weird show but I'm hooked on it. Tomorrow maybe we can catch a few more episodes. We also wanted to watch that new show on the Discover Channel... I just can't remember the name of it right now!

Anyway, I just looked outside and I don't see too much snow and it doesn't seem very windy. I think they were really wrong on this one. They love to be sensational whenever they can...

At least we have a day off of work!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com