Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

January 25, 2015 - 2:23 a.m.
"one dollar tree stand" or "house of cards"

Hey Journal!

Well, we just got home from pretty long day so we're kinda exhausted. I mean, we didn't do all that much, but it's late and we're just ready for bed.

We got up this morning and I made waffles for breakfast. This time we used the Hungry Jack mix instead of the Market Pantry. We only got it because we thought MAYBE the waffles would be of a better consistency. I don't think they really were.

I really want waffles that are thick and substantial like the ones you get at hotels. I know... It's ridiculous that hotels have amazing waffle batter! The results of the Google searches I performed lead me to believe that using pancake mix to make waffle batter will not yield the best results. If you want real waffles, you need to make your own batter.

After we ate breakfast, Dan went outside to shovel the driveway. Last night we got about an inch of snow and even though they said it was going to rain and melt most of it away later today, he wanted to clear it off in case that didn't happen. I cleaned off the waffle maker, got some laundry in the washing machine, and then ran the dishwasher.

When we headed out, we went out to Home Depot and we found the Christmas Tree stand we had bought back in December. It was $1, and so we went in and made the adjustment. Way to save almost $15!

We were going to go to the bank to make a deposit for the golf course but on the way there we realized that it closed at 1:00 and it was 1:30! Ugh!

After Home Depot, we went to Target. We stocked up on some food items we needed and then we headed home and unpacked our groceries.

We had some time to kill before heading out again so we started watching House of Cards. We had gotten the first DVD of the series a long time ago when we had the DVD Netflix but we never watched it because we got into another show instead.... Homeland, I think it was.

Anyway, we watched the first couple of episodes. It was good but a little weird. I will give it a try and watch some more.

At 7:00, we planned to meet Linda at Houlihan's for dinner so we got ready and left around 6. It took a while to go get there because the roads were really wet and, although it turned out not to bed, there was a possibility of icy conditions!

We arrived a couple minutes after 7 but had done call-ahead seating so our table was READY! :) I got the chicken parm and it was very enjoyable. My only complaint about their Chicken Parm is that it no longer comes with long bread. Now it's just a roll. Not as exciting!

We had a fun time at dinner and then we had some time to kill before curling. We went to Modell's because Linda and Dan had to get the security tag removed from an item they got for Christmas and then they got a hoodie and some other stuff.

Next we went back to their house and hung out for a while. Cameron showed me how she makes her bed all by herself and, in the process, asked me to put her dirty underwear "in the closet with all the other dirty underwear!"

Then Connor asked me to come to the basement with him and play some WiiU! First we played some Sonic racing game which was actually kinda cool... we did one race and I came in third. In the second race I was in 2nd for most of the time and JUST as I pulled into first place the game froze and started making some weird buzzing noise! We had to turn it off, so my victory was snatched from me prematurely.

Anyway, around 9:30 we all realized we probably should have left for curling so we quickly got changed and then headed for the arena.

We got there at about 9:50 and we were all nervous that we were late, but we were happy to see that they were still setting up when we arrived. We did good tonight, I had some killer shots, Dan did well, too. In the end, however, we were not able to pull out a victory and we continued our losing streak. At one point during the game it actually looked like we had a good chance to win tonight and at that moment I felt very conflicted because as much as I was excited by a possible win, it was bittersweet because I was growing fond of our losing streak, and imagine we had won tonight... then lost all the rest of the games.... how much better would it have been if we had lost this one, too! Oh well, I don't have to worry about that because we didn't have it in us!

Alas, we left a little after 12 and headed back to this area. We hung out for a while and then when we got home we watched an episode of House of Cards!

It's pretty late now so I'd better be off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com