Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 03, 2015 - 10:11 p.m.
"iced over" or "saving money"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up for work and everything outside was covered in ice! It got super-cold last night and was freezing all day long! Luckily, I had covered my windshield with FrostGuard thing that I got last week and all I had to do was unhook it and go! I was skeptical at first, but I think this product may be a really good investment. I just have to remember to use it!

I had planned to get gas this morning on my way to work because I was running low. I didn't know if I had enough to get to work and back again. When I got there, I braved the cold and got out of my car only to find out that the gas tank was completely frozen over! I've never had anything like this before... the ice was so thick!

I started banging on it and I chipped some of the ice away. Eventually I had cleared enough away that I thought I could get in, but it still wasn't working. The woman at the car next to me had the same problem and she was working on hers for a while. She got in, but I was still stuck. She came over and helped me and pressed the button in my car while I tried to pull the door open. Eventually I was able to open it up and get my gas!

That cost me about 20 minutes.... It was crazy.

When I got to work I parked with that side of my car facing the sun. I figured it would help to melt some of it away. I really should have parked under the carport last night but I didn't think it was going to be bad. I mean, it wouldn't have been if I didn't need gas!

It worked, though. About an hour later I looked out and that whole side was melted! Perfect. I went out and moved my car so that the front was facing the sun. I had a giant block of ice on the hood, so that needed to face the sun.

In the morning I showed Jackie, Lauren, and Kathleen the new sound system. Everyone was excited and it's a lot easier to control!

In other news, I know it's a shocker but the crazy woman who we had to sue two years ago to get our money for a golf outing inquired about having an outing again this year! This time, we told her that we could do her event but ONLY if she paid for the event in full before booking the date. She said she would, but I really didn't think it would happen. Then, the mail came today with a BANK CHECK for over $25,000! Unreal! So.... she's back. Lauren was not happy to hear this news.

In the afternoon I met with a cardboard recycling company because the one we currently use charges $155 per month + a $20 fuel surcharge. Over the past few years the fuel surcharge has gone from $10 to $15 to $20! It keeps creeping up and even though gas got cheap, it remains. Very shifty. Anyway, I called around and got some approved vendors from the town. The new company will charge us $60 per month. That's a great savings. Oh, and after we signed up with the new guys we got a letter in the mail from the old ones telling us that the price was going up by $19 because costs were increasing. Umm... wow.

Later in the day Steve, Bill, and I went over the projections for the 2015 dues. It looks good so far. We should have more than last year, and that's a good thing!

For lunch I had the steak sandwich and I ate up at the bar. I worked on random stuff for the rest of the day, closing out some days, and trying to make sense of the piles of paper on my desk.

I left a little late because I was showing Bill the Price is Right video! He hadn't seen it yet.

I left at 5:04 and headed home. When I got home, I watched the news and Dan went to the gym.

I watched World News, took a shower, and then when Dan got home back from the gym we watched some TV. I had a chicken pot pie for dinner and Dan got something really smelly from the greek restaurant.

I did two loads of laundry and then we watched Shark Tank which was new tonight. We tried to watch Agent Carter but Eyewitness News broke in for over 5 minutes and there was no way we wanted to continue watching after missing that much! Conveniently they waited until the commercial was over and ruined the show. We'll watch it tomorrow on WatchABC.

Anyway, now it's time for bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com