Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 14, 2015 - 1:55 a.m.
"escape the theater" or "WE DID IT!"

Hey Journal!

Well, the answer to the question on all of your minds is: WE ESCAPED! We did it! We successfully escaped the room! But let me give you the details of the day and we'll get to the excitement in due time!

This morning started out pretty normal... except that on the way to work I had to detour because they had closed down the intersection of Straight Path and Deer Park Avenue. Annoying! I have no idea why it was closed, I guess an accident... but it took forever to go around.

In the morning another awning guy came to give us a proposal. We've gotten two so far. The first one was a woman who seemed really nice and the second one was a guy who looked like a disheveled mess. The woman's price was almost double of the guy's... so she was basically out! We decided to get a third opinion and he came today. By far, he was much nicer and I liked him the best of all the ones we met with. I hope that he comes in with a good price because I'd really like to use him. He's from Smithtown, too.

It was a pretty quiet day in the office and I was perfectly happy with that. I got some accounting things taken care of and just let the day fly by.

I also called the Town Assessor's office to find out how I could file our STAR application. I was hoping to e-mail it for fax it in but the woman on the other end of the phone line said that I should bring it to the office. She said applications often get lost when they're faxed or e-mailed. Okay. Well, that clearly is a problem in and of itself, but I wasn't in the mood to have my tax documents lost and have to pay an extra $1,200+ next year, so I decided that bringing the paper was the best option. They were open until 5 so I left work a little early to drop it off.

For lunch at work I had the rigatoni with grilled chicken and string beans. This time they cut up the chicken and it was much more enjoyable than last time where they just laid it on top!

Anyway, everyone else was gone around 3:00 and I left a little after 4 to drop off that application.

I got there and there was one woman sitting at a desk behind the counter. She eventually came over and took my paper and she gave me a receipt. At least I have a receipt since they apparently have a problem with losing things!

I got home, took a shower, and waited for Dan to get home for our big adventure!

I totally didn't realize that not only were we doing "Escape the Theater" on the day after Lincoln's Birthday and on President's Day weekend, but it was also Friday the 13th! Crazy!

When Dan got home we hurried out. We arrived at Shawn and Caitlin's a little after 6:30, I went to the bathroom, and then we hit the road. Shawn drove and we made our way to the city. We made decent time considering the traffic and all. We were planning to take the Williamsburg Bridge but Shawn made a little bit of a wrong turn at one point which led us to the Brooklyn Bridge-- and that was even better.

We found the parking garage we had looked up online but it was full. A blessing in disguise because there was ONE street parking space open DIRECTLY across from the entrance to the lot. Completely free! NICE! It all worked out for us!

At this point we didn't know where we were going to eat but we figured we would head in the direction of our destination and see what we could find. We stumbled upon a place called DBGB Kitchen. It looked good, so we decided on that. They said they could accommodate 10 people but we couldn't be seated until the rest of them arrived. We hung out and waited and shortly after Arianna arrive, followed by the four people in the other car (Jackie, Karen...), and then we were 9. THey let us sit with 9, we were just waiting on Brendan.

The place was nice, and cool, but it was expensive. And that's not why I would never go back. The real problem that I have with it is not that it was expensive because I can deal with going out to a nice place from time to time and paying a lot for a nice meal... but this was absurd. The lowest priced thing on the menu that I remotely wanted to get was $32. I was okay with that, it was a flat iron steak with mashed potatoes. The steak was so small it was ridiculous, and even more ridiculous was the amount of potatoes I got. Let's be real...a scoop of mashed potatoes doesn't cost THAT much. They could have been a little more generous. Imagine this: You're at thanksgiving dinner at your grandma's house and you take a nice big helping of mashed potatoes and put it on your plate. Then, it's time to eat! You take your spoon and enjoy the first spoonful of your mashed potatoes. Yeah, I got less than that. Less than one spoonful!

Alas, I did have a good time at dinner... I was just surprised that I left hungry. We left around 10:30 and had to walk about 15 mins to the theater. It was really brutally cold out but it wasn't too bad. We kept warm.

We got there and finding the place was a little tricky, too. Before we could even escape the room we had to find it!

Ok, now here's the good stuff:

We arrived and the group before us was just finishing up. They didn't get out. They didn't escape the room. :( I was so nervous that we would fail.

This guy Brandon came out and said hello, then brought us inside to get started. He gave us a few pointers like, for example, the fire extinguisher was NOT part of the game, rather, it is for real emergencies!

Then we were left on our own to fend for ourselves! Yikes! We all scattered and started looking for clues or something to do. There were lots of locks with keys or combinations and we were in a theater with really weird puppets!

After searching the room we found a box under one of the seats, and some of the seats had numbers on them. I don't really know what we did from there, we just kept looking for clues! We used our 3 hints, and we were all very confused. I realize now, thinking back on it, I don't really remember all that we did or how we eventually got to the end... specifically the order of events! There were a lot of puzzles to figure out and I opened two of the padlocks. There was a box full of Ernie puppets and there so many other random things.

We made it out a little after 55 minutes... there were 4 mins and something seconds remaining on the clock when we got out! Its such a weird concept but I love it so much.... I would love to do more of these!

When we were done, we went outside and took a group photo! I would love to post it but I haven't gotten it yet! They said they would email it to us!

When we got out, Arianna and Brendan departed and the rest of us walked back to the area where we had parked. Our car, Shawn, Caitlin, Dan, and I headed to the car and back home.

There was just a little traffic right near the Williamsburg Bridge but once we got on there it was smooth sailing the rest of the way home.

We just got back and I am sooooo exhausted. I have to get right to bed because we have a busy morning planned tomorrow. Connor and Cameron are coming over for breakfast while Linda and Dan go to check out a couple of catering places for their wedding.

Anyway, that's the scoop! WE ESCAPED THE ROOM!!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com