Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 09, 2015 - 10:36 p.m.
"complete meltdown"

Hey Journal!

WHAT A DISASTER!! Today was a complete mess. I woke up with such high hopes and everything went wrong today. Okay, well... I guess it could have been worse and I'm just thankful it wasn't, but not a lot went right today, either!

First, I got up and looked at my phone to find a text from Mike saying he wasn't coming to do our windows because of "the forecast!" What?! They said it was going to be a little icy this morning but the roads were fine. I know because as soon as I found out he wasn't coming I went to work and had no trouble at all!

When I got to work I had to deal with an electrical problem at Maintenance. There was a row of outlets that weren't working and I called Mike to call the electrician to come fix it. I don't know if he ever came but whatever..... there were much bigger problems!

The rest of the morning went smoothly and lulled me into a false sense of security. Greg was upstairs painting in the restaurant and he made good progress today. It looks so nice to have a fresh coat. I also don't understand how some people can paint and not make a mess on the rug! They didn't have any drop cloths and everything was fine. Unreal!

Back downstairs I had to close some months on the POS system so that it would run a little faster and today was a perfect day since nobody was using the registers. I did that and then had to restart the server. It was fine and came back on with no problem. I wanted to look at something else so I attempted to restart again and, this time, open in safe mode. I hit the wrong "F" key and got the boot menu. I didn't want this menu so I selected boot from hard drive, which was the only fitting option and exactly what I wanted to do. And... nothing. The screen was black. I started again and again and Windows would not start. Holy shit.

This computer controls all the registers, all the financial records, and all of our files. Now, none of the files themselves would be lost because, even if the drive were fried, all our files are backed up off-site. It didn't seem like that was the case, though. It seemed like the computer no longer knew which drive partition to boot from, but it gave no error messages and didn't do ANYTHING. I had never seen anything like it.

I worked for HOURS to try to fix it. I tried everything I could think of.... but there's not much you can do when you can't even get to Windows!

At 4:00, worried, I called some computer repair places to enlist some help. I was a little sceptical because I feel like you get real hacks at some of these places. Like, they don't REALLY know computers, they just know a little more than the average grandma.

Alas, I did find one that I trusted and they said I could bring it in first thing tomorrow morning. I agreed, and then unhooked the server and took it home with me. I didn't want to take it home because I knew if I did I wouldn't be able to stop working on it, but I took it with me because the place was closer to home and I didn't want to have to go back to work tomorrow to get it.

I was really upset. I felt like I was in deep shit. Not like I was going to be in trouble for anything, because I didn't do anything wrong.. but just that my whole day and possible week were ruined and that it was going to be a big mess.

When I got home, Dan helped me carry the server in and I decided to test some things by connecting the hard drive to my computer. Dan went to the gym and I kept working.

I hooked the hard drive up and was happy to see that it was recognized and came online right away. I was able to access all the files so I made a copy of the important stuff. I did this because even with the online backup, it's more efficient to just have the files on my hard drive than have to re-download them all in the event that something went wrong.

After having it connected to my computer, I put it back in the server and tried to start it again. It was MIRACULOUS! It started with no problem at all. It was unreal and I felt like a giant weight was lifted from me. Insane!

I was so relieved and I called Dan to tell him what had happened. My best guess is that by connecting the drive to my computer I "jumped" it back into its senses. I don't even know how this happened.

So excited, I packed the computer back in the car and went back to work to hook it up. I got there, got inside, brought it back and we were BACK IN BUSINESS. THANK GOD! :) Now, tomorrow, I don't have to worry about this at all!

On my way home from work I had called Jackie to tell her that we had no registers and that she would have to have the waitresses take orders by hand tomorrow. Now we don't have to!

When I finally got back home Dan was back from the gym, had showered up, and was eating his dinner. I had the leftover shepherd's pie for dinner earlier while I was working on the computer. It was really good but there's one thing about it... It's really salty. Actually, it's not at all salty when you're eating it. It doesn't have any taste of salt, but about 30 mins later you're parched as could be!

Dan and I watched World News and then we watched last night's premiere of Better Call Saul! I thought it was good... I liked that it showed him "today" and then went back to his previous life, but I don't understand why he has a DIFFERENT name. I guess all will be explained!

The second episode was on tonight and we'll probably watch it tomorrow.

Now it's time for bed and Mike is supposed to come tomorrow for our windows and door! I hope he does!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com