Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 16, 2015 - 1:46 a.m.
"get smart again" or "brutal cold"

Hey Journal!

Well, it's definitely later than I had planned to get to bed tonight.... We wound up having a little unexpected adventure to work a little while ago.... But I'll start at the beginning.

This morning we slept until about 10:30 which was good because I was pretty tired from work all week and then getting up early again yesterday after a late night...

Dan still wasn't feeling up to par and we planned to take it easy today and not really leave the house. However, Dan doesn't like sitting home. He likes it just about as much as he likes being sick, so we decided to go out in the afternoon.

First, we went to Home Depot and purchased a door sweep for our front door. The storm door is now about an inch off the ground and there's nothing there, so we needed to fill the gap. We got that, and we also got some Dap Latex Foam insulator to spray around the new door frame. Mike had installed it the other day with that pink panther insulation stuff and I suppose it worked okay, but there were lots of gaps and a bunch of freezing cold air pouring inside! I was not a fan of that, so we figured we would give this a try.

The power went out briefly while we were there. That was random. I liked it!

Next, we went to Target and the only thing we purchased was a box of tissues. Then we went to get Dan's parents' mail from their PO Box and then headed home after picking up some Domino's Pizza for lunch!

When we got home, I tried out the insulation on the door. It worked really well, but I think I am going to have to give it a second go again tomorrow. Because it was so windy, little gaps kept opening back up, so I figure that once the majority of it hardens, it will be be easier for me to fill in tomorrow!

After that we just hung around and watched TV. Dan took a nap for a while, I showered up, and then at 7:00, we went out for dinner. We picked up Kristen and then went to the Cheesecake Factory!

They had about a half hour wait so we went over to Barnes and Noble to peruse the books. I read a couple of magazine articles and Kristen found some books to purchase. Our pager went off, so I went back to claim our table and Dan and Kristen waited on line. They got stuck behind a woman who was taking FOREVER... filling out a rewards card application and all...

I got the table and ordered us a round of waters!

They had a specials menu today and I ordered the "Herb-Crusted Chicken"-something from it. Unfortunately, the waitress came back a few minutes later to tell me that they were out of it. Of course! Every time I try to branch out and try something new... I get shot down.

Instead, I went with the old staple... Crusted Chicken Romano. We also used our last free Cheesecake coupon. We split it three ways and I'm glad because 1/3 of that thing was more than enough for me!

It was BRUTAL out tonight! Walking from the car of the restaurant and back was terrible. The wind was like razors and it was just frigid! It was one of those nights where you can't even be outside for more than a few seconds!

Anyway, after dinner we came home and watched a movie. We looked through our collection and couldn't decide on anything... and then I saw the movie "Get Smart Again!" I remember buying this movie a long time ago because I had always loved the TV show but I don't think I had ever watched it. Dan doesn't remember seeing it either. So, we gave it a whirl. It was weird, but it was good. I liked it... It was funny!

When the movie was over, we were getting ready for bed and I looked down at my phone and saw that the temperature in the kitchen at work had plummeted. Despite my efforts to turn up the heat during the day, it was still way too low. Dangerously low.

I decided it wasn't worth risking another disaster like last year so Dan and I put our coats on, over our pajamas, and headed up there to make sure everything was okay. We arrive around 12:30 and I was pleasantly surprised to find that the kitchen was actually a nice temperature. I think the thermostat must have been getting a colder reading from inside the wall. It was reading 50 degrees and it was definitely nearly that cold in there. It was comfortable without my jacket on!

Anyway, while we were there we opened the kitchen doors so that the heat from the restaurant could make its way inside if need be. Then, while we were there, we made ourselves some peppermint tea for the road. It hit the spot and kept us warm while we headed back.

I just had some cereal and Dan took his nightly dose of the Up & Up Elixer. We watched some QVC but it was just stupid jewelry. The jewelry shows are always terrible. I like any other products...they're usually very entertaining.

Alas, it's late now so it's off to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com