Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 01, 2015 - 12:30 a.m.
"a welcome home party"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a busy day. We got up around 11:00 and watched some more House of Cards. Last night we watched the first episode of Season 3 before bed and I have to say I was really excited for it but it was a little disappointing. I thought it was super slow and the whole thing about Doug just dragged on and on.

The next couple of episodes were better, but not by much. As we've started to get further into it I think it's getting better and of course I want to keep watching but I feel like it's not as amazing as the past two seasons.

After the episodes, we sorted out the clothes we wanted to get rid of and donate. We laid them out on the living room floor and took pictures of all of them as proof. Then we loaded them into bags and headed out to drop them off. We went to the church that's right on Main Street. Caitlin had told us they had a thrift store there and it was certainly much closer than going all the way to the one in Ronkonkoma. Plus, I wasn't so happy with them the last time I dropped off clothes there.

We parked across the street and hauled the three big bags inside. There was a really old woman who looks like she was in her 90s sitting at a desk and she was very happy to see us. She thanked us for our donations and then she said, "You'll want a receipt...." She handed Dan a slip of paper and said, "What you put on here is between you, the lord, and the IRS!" I think she gets a kick out of that one... I know I did!

Next we went to Price Club in Commack to redeem my AMEX Annual Reward Coupon. Every year the money we earn in rewards is given back in February via a coupon located at the bottom of the statement. I don't know how they do it if you get your statement delivered online. I wonder. Anyway, we made just a couple of dollars under $300! Nice! For doing nothing other than using the right card at the right time.

We got the cash because we do not believe in using it as payment for our purchases. Then we wouldn't get the 1% we are entitled to for THAT purchase! We didn't buy anything today, anyway. We picked up our cash and then headed home.

We got back around 2:00 and Dan and I finished inputting our taxes. We used TurboTax again this year and it was nice to get everything entered and ready to go. After that, Dan went to the gym and at 3:00, my mom came over for me to help her with her taxes. We got hers done, and then she headed off to the gym, too.

Dan never quite made it to the gym because on his way, he went to make sure his parents' walkway wasn't too icy and as he was checking it out... they arrived. He wound up helping them chip the ice away from their driveway.

When Dan got home he brought some cake mix and icing. I asked him to get it while he was out because we were going out with Dan's parents for dinner tonight to welcome them home and wanted to have them come over for cake afterwards. We made the cake and cleaned up a little.

At 8:00, we met Dan's parents at Tony Roma's over in Commack. I think it's a nice place and my food was okay but I don't think I liked it enough. This was our second time there and I really don't think we should go back.

Anyway, we had a nice time, it's crazy that the last time we saw them was in 2014! Wowzers! So, they made the long trip back from Florida to Long Island and now they are in for a rude awakening when they wake up to more snow and ice and frigid temperatures. I could really use a trip to 80 degree weather right about now!

Dinner was good, I got the steak medallions again and they were better than last time because I didn't get the weird peppercorn sauce. The baked potato was a little dry.

After dinner, we came back here and Dan's parents picked up Brian and Jessica to come for cake, too. We had the cake and it came out really good. We hung out, talked, and then they departed.

Dan and I watched some more House of Cards. We're making good progress, but I realized there aren't really many episodes in one season of this show. It's kinda short!

Anyway, now it's time for bed! I'm tired and we ate going out to breakfast tomorrow with Kristen and then to the famous Maple Sugaring! Very nice!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com