Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 15, 2015 - 1:04 a.m.
"painting day: living room edition - fresh tone"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up around 8:30 and I got right to painting. I didn't watch any TV or waste and time. I put down the drop cloth, cleared the area, taped, and then I got right to work.

I made really good progress. I started at the wall with the bookcase and then worked my way around the room clockwise. When I moved the bookcase it started to fall over! It was like the leaning tower of Pisa! I had to hold it up with one hand and then empty out the top shelf with the other hand so that nothing fell and broke! I was taking off the stuff and throwing it on the couch!

Finally I got all the heavy stuff off the top shelves and it wasn't in danger of falling over anymore. I moved it out of the way and then continued with the painting. I was just finishing the area by the thermostat when Dan woke up around 10:30!

He came down and was really surprised to see how far I had gotten. He went out to get bagels for us for breakfast and then when he got down we ate. I continued the painting while Dan took down the blinds over the front windows.

I feel like from that point on the painting took a lot longer to do, but it's probably because there were so many more things to paint around and things that needed to be done more carefully.

The first coat was finished around 3:00 and Dan made me a Target pizza for lunch and we ate while watching Jeopardy. Next, we took a little break while everything dried and went to Price Club.

We needed to get some stuff -- specifically toilet paper. We had none left. We also got milk, bottled water, and some other necessities. They had these "scent booster" things on sale and we decided to give them a try. See, the problem is that I used to like that the dryer sheets made the clothes smell nice but since you can't put dryer sheets in our new dryer, I wanted to get something to make the clothes smell nice!

After Price Club we came back home and I got right back to painting. The second coat went much faster. I made my way around the room and Dan inspected behind me to see if I had missed any spots. There were some areas where you could see dots of yellow and we wanted to make sure they were completely covered!

We finished around 8:45 and then I used some of the Patch and Paint stuff to cover the weird area by the thermostat. It's like the wall is completely uneven over there and I have no idea how/why that would be like that. The stuff was really flaky but I managed to get it on there. I think it will be good one it dries. I may have to use a little spackle over it, too. The Nest is so much smaller than the old thermostat so there's going to be a lot more visible area.

For dinner we went to Boston Market and Dan thought that it was open until 10. We arrived at 9:20 and it was still open... but it closed at 9:30. They gave us all of our food in to-go containers with bags, but we sat there and ate it anyway! We actually didn't realize that they closed so soon when we sat down! Woops! They actually locked the doors while we were there but then opened them back up to let some guy come buy some chicken! That made me feel a little better. We were quick, too, so it wasn't a big deal.

Next, we went over to Home Depot to get some new outlet covers for the living room. The old ones had globs of yellow paint on them!

When we got home, Dan called Nest to get the new base for our thermostat. They said that their new base is made differently from the old one so now it's completely impossible for the same thing to happen! Too bad they didn't realize this sooner... before we purchased our thermostat!

After we were done with all of that, we watched to watch a movie. We checked out HBO Go and the only thing that remotely interested us was the movie "Neighbors." It's with Zac Efron.

It was a really weird movie and definitely a stupid movie. Parts of it were boring, but for the most part it was enjoyable. I definitely cracked up at a few parts of it... specifically the cow jokes part!

Anyway, it's been a long day of painting and stuff, so now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com