Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 17, 2015 - 11:02 p.m.
"refrigerator in pieces" or "ethernet extender up and running"

Hey Journal!

Happy St. Patrick's Day!

This morning when I got up for work I had a big decision to make... should I wear my green sweater or not? I mean, it is St. Patrick's Day, after all... so I decided to go for it.

When I got to work, I went right down to the maintenance department to test out the electrical network extenders I had purchased last night. I was really afraid it wasn't going to work because the trailer may or may not be on a completely different circuit panel than the barn. I plugged them both in at the barn and they quickly found eachother. Then, I moved one of them into the trailer! It was a miracle! It worked! I was so excited. I can't believe it was THAT easy.

I spent a little while configuring the maintenance computer to get the connection and the timeclock was working perfectly, and it was so happy. This project has been going on for so long. First it was the $900 microwave antennas, then it was the Verizon JetPack, then it was the RF antennas. Each thing got progressively better but this current setup is the most reliable we've ever had, the fastest, and the least susceptible to being disrupted! I'm amazed.

I love things like this because I love networking, and of course network cable, and I get to learn so much. I learned a lot about this network extender, a little about cabling and conduits, and a little about telephone wiring. I also learned how to crimp network cable. I had the crimper but had never used it. I really feel more confident in my ability to solve more problems now.

I headed back to the office, got a little work done, and then I went back to maintenance to install some programs on the computer. I had to put Office on there, also the timeclock administrator, and VNC so I can connect remotely.

On my way back, the FedEx guy was arriving with the new walk-in refrigerator. I stayed outside and watched this unfold. They basically opened the back of the truck and then it was our job to get everything off!

I wound up being in charge of the operation somehow and I was directing where all the pieces should go. The maintenance guys were doing all the heavy lifting... I was just playing tetris with it all.

There were SOOOO many panels for this thing and SOOOO many pieces to put together. It's insane. We made five giant piles of the pieces and then when it was all done, Greg covered them with a big tarp to keep them safe. They'll probably be out there for a few weeks... if not a month!

When I got back in around 2:00, I had the French Dip for lunch. I ate at the bar and then I had to finish up the office things that were lingering around for me.

I left work at 5:00 and headed home. Our new Nest backplate arrived in the mail today so I mounted it on the newly painted and spackled wall and it was working... but acting a little strange. It keeps giving me the N22 error. (More on this later.)

After setting up the Nest I went out to meet my mom at Boston Market at 6:20. As I was leaving the house I put the recyclables out in the bin along with two big cardboard boxes. As I went to leave, the wind blew the pail over, bottles went everywhere, and the boxes went flying down the street!

I had to run after them and wrangled them. I tried to wedge the boxes between the pail and the tree so it wouldn't happen again. I was a little late meeting my mom with all that craziness.

We had dinner.... I got the 1/4 white with mashed potatoes and mac and cheese. We took our time and hung out there for a bit but after were done I headed home.

I got home around 7:30 and Dan's parents wanted to come over and do laundry. They are getting the kitchen redone and as a result they aren't supposed to use their washing machine for a week or so. What a debacle. The brought chinese food with them for dinner and ate while the laundry did its thing. Then they watched last Friday's Shark Tank while I texted Jen B and Re.

Re has been seeing a couple of suitors and Jen B and I have been giving our advice. I think we have been giving excellent advice, if I do say so myself.

Dan's parents left around 10:00 and I was sooo exhausted and ready for bed. Despite that, I had so much to do. I had to clean up, take a shower, and a bunch of other little things. I also needed to figure out this Nest thing.

See, the problem now is that when I connect the AC and Heat, the heat works fine. BUT, When I turn the power off to the AC (using the breaker,) the heat no longer works. It's insane. I can't figure this thing out. Luckily, this time, it's not turning the AC on! It was ALSO reading the wrong temperature again tonight. I don't get it. It was about 8 degrees high. Since it's so complicated I just wound up taking the Nest off again and re-connecting the old Chronotherm until I can sort this out tomorrow.

Anyway, it's really late now and I have to get to bed! So much to do, so little time.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com