Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 16, 2015 - 10:55 p.m.
"twisted pairs, crimping, and network extenders" or "always late to bed"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up at the usual time and headed off to work. It was quiet in the morning and I was able to get a few things done. Nothing was going on all day so it was just us in the office. We wrote the letter for the course opening although we can't send it out just yet because we don't know when we're planning to open!

The afternoon was the complete opposite of the morning. Total craziness. The "Ethernet Extender" that I ordered came and I wanted to try to hook it up. It's going to bridge the internet connection from the clubhouse to maintenance over a 1000 foot wire. It's really amazing.

I unboxed it and then I tried to crimp the existing wires into RJ12 connectors because I only needed the two middle wires. I had no luck with that so I went to home depot to get some RJ45 connectors. While I was there I saw the outlet connector things, so I went for those instead. When I got back to work I hooked them up and then tested it out.

The moment of truth! I plugged in both ends and waited to see what happened. It took about 3 minutes but after that the LINK light came on and we had a connection! I went down to maintenance again to test it out and it was working great. The only problem now was that I needed to get the internet from the barn to the trailer. The trailer isn't far at all but the barn and the trailer are made of metal and the signal didn't reach!

I came up with an idea to get some network cable and just run it along the edge of the parking lot, since it wasn't too far. I wasn't a big fan of the idea but I couldn't think of anything else.

This consumed the rest of my day, so that's why the afternoon was nuts. I left at 4:30 and stopped at the Home Depot in Commack to get some cable. While I was there, I saw these Electrical Ethernet connector things. Basically, you plug it into the wall and it uses the house wiring to send the signal to another receptacle plugged in somewhere else in the house.

If it works... It will be amazing. I brought it home and tried it out and it worked perfectly here. My only concern is HOW far along the system will it go. I don't know if the trailer and the barn are one the same breaker and if they aren't, will it travel back through to another panel? I don't even know what to expect.

After that, I did some laundry and watched the news. I spoke to Thom earlier today and he is going to come visit us on Friday. He will be taking the train to Kings Park and then we'll pick him up and go out to dinner.

For dinner tonight I was hungry but had no options! I decided to make butter stars! Again I was conflicted over how much to make. I can never tell how much you need per person when it's uncooked! I think I did a good estimation, though. I also had an Uncrustable.

After that I watched the Secrets and Lies show. It's so strange but I MUST know who did it and why! It's definitely a show that once that's all out in the open it should be over. They can't drag this one on FOREVER.

Anyway, it's late again... I wanted to be in bed sooner.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com