Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 21, 2015 - 5:00 p.m.
"spring snowstorm" or "thom visits"

Hey Journal!

Yesterday was Friday and we were up pretty late so I didn't get to write my entry before bed. I'm really exhausted now, actually... This week has been a real whirlwind so I'm really looking forward to sleeping late on Sunday morning and taking it easy.

They were calling for another snowstorm on Friday and it was supposed to start around noon. I got up at the usual time and headed off to work. When I arrived, maintenance had just finished movie the old lockers we had in the basement into the new storage container we bought. I love the container but I'm a little worried that the lockers will get warped or weird being out in the cold, heat, dampness, and humidity.

Later on when Dan's dad arrived we went through some of the old crap that was tucked away near the lockers and we threw a lot of stuff out and I kept a couple of things that I thought had some value. There was an old wooden table that Dan's Dad wanted to take home with him and he used an old leftover carpet piece to make a soft top for it. He nailed it in and is going to take it home to use when he makes fishing things!

On and off throughout the day I worked on getting the member accounts set up in the computer. This is a yearly project... I have to turn off people who haven't paid and have to activate people who have. During the season I do this whenever someone joins or leaves, obviously, but in the winter there's too many things that happen and change to keep up with it all so I have to wait till we get close to opening and then get everything up to date.

It's a little bit of a tedious process and so I tried to break it up a little. Each time you make the changes you have to run the program again to see if there's anything else that needs to be fixed. Honestly, as much work as it is, the program I wrote makes it so much easier. I honestly do not know how I did this before I had the program. It seems like it would be a daunting task.

I worked on random things throughout the day and I had soup for lunch. I had a cup of Beef Barley in the morning and then another in the afternoon. I couldn't decide on anything for lunch .... I felt like I just wasn't in the mood.

It started snowing around 2:00 and it was coming down heavy. It wasn't really sticking to the roads but it really covered the grassy areas. It's unbelievable.... we could JUST see the grass... the snow was almost completely gone... and now we have another covering. It was supposed to be warm today, Saturday, but it hasn't been as warm as they thought.

I just can't take any more snow. It's time to get warm and enjoy spring and summer and warmth!

Anyway, I left work around 4:30 and headed home. Thom and "Lalo" were coming on the train to Kings Park and we had to pick them up at 6:05. When I got home I took a quick shower and then got ready to go. Dan got home, changed, and we hurried to the train station. We were about 3 minutes later but so was the train!

We picked them up, came back here, and then left to go to dinner. We went to Lotus East for some Chinese food! It took a while to get there in the snow but, as always, it was worth the trip.

The usual players were all there... both girls, the old man who never talks to us for some reason, etc.

The food was good and we had a nice time. We all got Zombies to drink and they were excellent. It was definitely strong but you didn't really taste the alcohol. I think that's the mark of a good drink... I mean, you're not supposed to put too little alc, but it also isn't supposed to taste like burning!

After we ate we went to Target to get some drinks. Dan got some beer and I got some cranberry juice to mix with my vodka. We came back here and had some drinks and played Cards Against Humanity! We played the ENTIRE deck and since we used every single card... I was shocked that the Helen Keller card never came up! Did they remove it from the set now?! I'm so upset by that!

We hung out for a while and finally got to bed around 3am! I know, LATE!! We got up at 10 this morning to start our day and I'm just so tired now... but that's a story for later....

I'll be with another update before bed!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com