Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 19, 2015 - 11:26 p.m.
"sound of music special" or "new bookcase"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and had more stuff to do around the house. I'm trying to get things in order before Thom comes to visit tomorrow. As a result, I was a little late to work this morning. I stopped at the PO Box on the way and got the CPC mail, too.

When I got to work, I had to get a check ready for this new storage box we ordered. It's a giant shipping container and they delivered it around 10:30 this morning. It fit perfectly next to the barn at maintenance and it's so much bigger than I had imagined!

I spent most of the day cranking out paperwork. Getting things off my desk and getting things DONE that needed to be done.

For lunch I had the tuscan panini and ate at the bar. It was 2:30, so we watched Jeopardy!

When I got back downstairs I had this crazy urge to clean out my desk drawer. It was getting piled up with crap and I needed to sort through it. I found things in there that I can't imagine why I saved them. There were all sorts of weird garbage. I threw a lot of stuff out and I boxes up some more stuff. I took a big empty box for it so that I can keep adding to it. It can be the "things Brian doesn't want in his desk anymore but also doesn't want to throw away" box.

I left work at 5:00 and headed home. Our new bookcase from Target was sitting on the porch waiting for me when I arrived. I was really looking forward to finishing cleaning up and then watching TV shows when Dan got home but I also wanted to just get this bookcase put together so that I could put away all the stuff from the old bookcase that we strewn around the living room!

First, I plugged in the electric screwdriver to start charging it. I hate it because it doesn't work plugged in and it takes HOURS to charge up so unless you have a lot of notice when you need to use it it's completely useless.

I unpacked the box and every piece was covered with styrofoam pieces and little hairy things from the protective sheets. I took each piece out of the box and vacuumed it. Then I went through the manual and set up all screws and stuff without actually screwing them in. After I was done with all that, I started. The electric screwdriver had enough power for about 5 screws and then I was on my own. I hate using regular screwdrivers for furniture. My poor hands. I got most of it together.

Dan got home at 7:30 and he helped me put the backing on. That took a LOT of hand-work. I intermittently used the electric one, but it would only do two screws before dying again. What a piece of crap.

Anyway, when we were done I cleaned up all the pieces and Dan took the garbage out. I set up the bookcase and Dan went out to get pizza for dinner. He got home, took a shower, and we ate while watching the Diane Sawyer's Sound of Music special.

It was great.... I loved watching the old behind the scenes clips! I think it's fascinating that most of the locations where the movie was filed are readily available for tourists to see and I think Austria looks like a really amazing place. I feel like now I want to go visit there.

I also had no idea about Julie Andrews's voice being lost in an operation years ago! She's not even allowed to talk about it because of the settlement. So crazy...

Anyway, I did all of Dan's laundry from his trip and then we cleaned up the house to get ready for our guests tomorrow.

We watched tonight's Scandal, and now it's time for bed!! It's a little later than I would have liked so I am going to really be tired tomorrow... I just know it!

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com