Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

February 22, 2015 - 2:42 a.m.
"bailed on the bar"

Hey Journal!

This morning I woke up at 9:00 and I texted my mom to see if she wanted to go to breakfast. She did, so we met at the Commack IHOP at 9:45. We were there first, and my mom was about 10 minutes late! Surprisingly there was no line at all which nice... but very unusual for that place!

We had a busy schedule for the rest of the morning/afternoon... lots we wanted to fit in in a short amount of time. This weekend actually feels like it's lasted a LONG time because we did so much between last night and today.

Anyway, after we ate, we hurried back home to pick up some money -- we needed to give Mike the money we owed him for installing our basement windows and front door. We got that, and then my mom left her car here. She wanted to go to CVS in Nesconset at 11:00 for a "Beauty Day." She had gotten an e-mail about it which said that from 11-3 they would be giving out free samples of "your favorite cosmetics and beauty supplies." I looked at the e-mail and of all the CVS locations near us, that was the only one participating.

We went there and arrived at about 11:15. To our surprise, we couldn't find any sign of this Beauty Day. It was kinda weird. I would have expected a table to be set up with a girl there handing out the free stuff, or some sort of indication that this event was going on.... but we walked around the store and there was nothing.

My mom asked the manager about it.... he was up at the front of the store... and he knew about this... apparently my mom was the first to come in for it. He had to go to a closet, opened it up, and rummaged around until he found the bags. They were small little goodie bag-type things with a few little samples. Some Curel, some floss, and some other stuff. Dan got one, too.

It was really nothing super special... very underwhelming for what I had expected... and my expectations were low to begin with!

Alas, after that, we stopped by to say hi to my Grandma and Grandpa. We hung out there for a while, and then we went to the Home Show! We had gotten a postcard in the mail about it yesterday and figured it would be fun to go and look around and see what we might need or to get ideas for our house!

I remember going to the Home Show years ago when it was at the sports complex at Stony Brook. It was fun and it was BIG. We also met Al from Home Improvement... Richard Karn!

Anyway, this one was at Suffolk and the admission was free. It was MUCH smaller than the other one. It was kinda lame but we did enjoy walking up and down the aisles looking at the stuff. I got a few good free samples. There were a ton of people hawking solar panels and a lot of hot tub people.

The more exciting booth of all was the New York Lotto booth! It had the most people crammed around it. They were just selling lotto tickets! If you purchased $10 in tickets you could spin the wheel and have a chance to win something else. We did it, and Dan and I won a free tote bag. My mom did it and she won another $5 scratch-off ticket.

We went outside to the lobby before we left and scratched them off. Dan and I won $10 on our tickets, so we got our money back. My mom did the same, and so we all broke even. And of course, we have the tote bag!

After that, we went up to the golf course to drop off Mike's money. We put it in an envelope and left it on the desk for him to pick up tomorrow morning. While we were there we had a little tea to warm us up, and then we departed and went to Best Buy.

We had a $10 Reward Zone certificate to use that expired today. We always leave them for the last minute and have no idea what the use them on! This time, my mom needed a new cell phone case so I offered the certificate to her!

She picked out a relatively inexpensive one and so the total was only about $2.

It started snowing around 3:00, and we headed home after Best Buy. Dan and I watched a little TV... some Judge Judy from last night and then I did some laundry and got ready to go out for the evening. The snow was coming down but it was light and fluffy and the roads weren't too bad. They were just a little slushy.

We had plans to go to Lion Dancing with Linda next weekend but since Liz isn't able to make it next weekend, we went with her today! I mean, who isn't up for a little extra Lion Dancing... and I love the Chinese food at Lotus East.

Oh, so the weirdest thing happened to me tonight... we were stopped at a traffic light and this big 90s Bronco-like car pulls up next to us. Casually I looked up at the driver and I would say he looked like he was about 21 years old. He looked down at me and then he WINKED AT ME! So weird. He was very good looking, so I was all confused and caught off guard. The window was a little foggy and in the split-second, I was doubting that this even really happened! I told Dan and he was like "NO...." and then I looked back up and he did it AGAIN and then smiled at me! Dan asked me if I smiled back and I said I had no idea! I hope I did! I was so confused! The light changed and then he drove off and we turned left! Never to be seen again. Too bad... I miss him already! We may have been in love. lol

Anyway, we met Liz at Lotus East at 6:30. We got a table and the place was kinda empty when we arrived. It filled up, though, before Lion Dancing commenced at 7:30! I really have to say that Lotus East is the best Chinese food I have ever had...and on top of that... all of the people who work there are so friendly and fun and it's just a happy experience. I love everything about it and we should go there more often. It's just so far away now that the St. James one is gone!

We ordered our food and just as we were finishing up eating, the older man who works there came around with the envelopes! Good fortune if you give money to the lions! :)

The Lion Dancing this year was cool...four lions and one baby lion! They also did that bit beforehand, and the man actually fed the lion a head of lettuce! It was wild. I love it. The only thing that they didn't have this year that they DID have last year was the people with the weird wooden masks! I wonder why it's different. I think, overall, last year was the best one we've ever seen. This one wasn't bad, by any means, but it just wasn't as intense as in the past. We had a great time, though, and the lion ate my head! Always a highlight.

I can't wait to go back next week and compare them...see what they do differently.

We had perfect timing because the lion dancing started just as we finished eating and then it was over, we paid, and then had to leave for curling. Oh, and before we left we found out the names of the twin girls. I know we knew this is in the past... but they are Jennifer and Jessica. I always forget.

I can't believe this is only the second lion dancing there... I could have sworn that we had been there more times, but apparently I say that every time we go. I always feel like I've been there so many times before and I have not. lol

When we left for curling we took 83 to the Expressway and then took that to 135. It was still snowing and while the roads weren't icy, they were pretty slushy and people were driving very slowly. It took us a little over an hour to get to the arena but we arrived there at a perfect time.

Tonight was our big match up against Joe's team. Re was not in attendance because she was at her annual Oscar movie marathon this evening. As I understand it, we are vying for last place with Joe so this was a big game for us. If we won, we might have had a run for our money, especially with our win last week! Both our team and Joe's team had three players so we were a pretty even matchup!

In the first end they scored 5 points which made it very hard for us to come back. We actually did make some great shots and wound up scoring a fair amount as the game progressed, but not enough to overcome the powerhouse. They ended the game with 12 points and won.

Now, last time we played Joe had insisted and made us promise that we would come out to the bar afterwards with them the week we played his team! We agreed, and were really looking forward to it! However, Joe bailed on us tonight! He was the first out the door, We still love him, though. lol Much to our dismay, most of the other teams bailed, too!! It was just raining out...really?? The one week we plan to go to the bar everyone decides not to go!? Sheesh!

Instead, we went to the diner with Linda. We hung out there for a while and had some food and it was fun. I miss our after-curling diner escapades. They were always a fun time to spend together. It's too bad Re isn't up for them anymore.

We just got home and I'm pretty tired! I showered up and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com