Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 10, 2015 - 10:46 p.m.
"twisted pairs" or "time for a new awning"

Hey Journal!

When I got up for work this morning Dan was still not feeling better. Before going to work, I went to Key Food in Kings Park to get him some Ginger Ale and Gatorade. I really didn't want to go there but I was in a rush and I let that cloud my judgement. The ginger ale was DOUBLE the price of Target and the Gatorade was no bargain, either.

Against my better judgement, I purchased the items there but I vow never to do so again in the future. What a ripoff. You know, now, I think it would probably have been better to go to 7-11!

Anyway, I brought back Dan's drinks, and poured him a big glass of ginger ale.

Dan was watching GMA when I got home and there was a story about Julie Andrews. They are going to have a special about the 50th Anniversary of the Sound of Music next Wednesday with her and Diane Sawyer! Diane was on GMA today and so was Julie. They were really awkwardly holding hands while they were talking to Robin Roberts. It was so strange. I'm super excited for this special, though!

They apparently go back to Austria to visit the filming locations for the movie and, from what I can tell, Diane Sawyer does her best to help recreate some special moments! I love Diane.

Anyway, I got Dan set up with his goods and then I headed off to work.

I got there around 9:30 and I worked on payroll a little. At 10:00 I was supposed to meet with the Awning guy but he never showed up. I called him around 12:00 to see what happened and if he was still coming. He said he got backed up and would be there around 2. I actually think he forgot and just came up with that as an excuse... because otherwise why wouldn't he have called!? Weird. I hope he's a good awning maker and actually makes a quality awning ON TIME!

The other big project of the day was the internet connection at maintenance. The RF radio keeps going in and out and I have no idea why. When you turn it off and back on, it works....but it will randomly stop and need to be restarted.

In an effort to find an alternative, I located a phone wire that goes from here to there. There's a 4" conduit that takes it all the way down to maintenance! Interestingly, it's a cable with 4 twisted pairs, or 8 wires. Since phone needs only two of those wires, we could use four more for the internet! That would be amazing.

The only problem is that it seems to be too long of a run for that type of service. I found something online that may help.... so I'm going to give it a try. It would be so nice to get them hooked up down there!

I went back and forth and tested a bunch of things, but now I just have to wait for this device to arrive.

For lunch today I had the chicken parm hero. It was one of the specials. I had it around 1:30 since the awning guy said he would be there at 2. It's okay, I didn't miss Millionaire or Daytime Jeopardy! today anyway because they were preempted.

The guy showed up at 2 and brought some fabric samples. Two with fire resistant fabric and two without. One was forest green and the other was green with black stripes in it. We went for the fire resistant one in forest green.

It was almost 5 but I had to finish up payroll quickly and then I departed. I had some trouble setting the alarm, but it turns out it was just that someone had left the door to the walk-in refrigerator open which won't allow the alarm to be turned on.

When I got home, Dan was still feeling sick and sleeping upstairs. I watched World News and then had leftover spaghetti for dinner. Like I said the other day, that sauce wasn't the best... it was really bland, so before I heated it up I put a little salt in it and some parsley flakes! It REALLY make it much better. It gave it some flavor.

After that I took a shower and then Dan came down to watch some TV. We watched Better Call Saul and SHIELD.

I really need to know what Bobby and that other guy are up to. I also like that Jessie XY is a recurring person on this show! lol She's so weird. My favorite part is how she calls Coulson "Son of Coul." It's funny because in Kyle XY she played this confused, lost girl who had this blank look on her face all the time, and in tonight's episode she was basically the same.

In other news, I saw a BuzzFeed post today about the cast of Greek and how they're all still friends and hang out! Heartwarming. I really loved that show... it was so perfect for so many reasons and I think it was so underrated... I mean, I don't think as many people watched it as would have if it had been on ABC or something... but maybe that's why they had the freedom to make it such a good show. It should be on in reruns.

Anyway, now it's time for bed...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com