Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

March 03, 2015 - 10:46 p.m.
"nest: air conditioning in the winter"

Hey Journal!

What a crappy Tuesday! This morning when Dan and I got up for work it was colder than usual in the house. Of course, the first thing I did was check the temperature setting and saw that the heat was set correctly and was running. That was a good, and it was brutally cold outside last night, so I figured it was just taking longer than usual to get warm.

I got dressed and ready for work and then I headed out. Fast forward to later in the day -- It started snowing around 3:30 and we left work an hour early at 4:00. I got home around 4:30 and when I got inside it was still pretty cold. This time I figured that maybe since I had gotten home early the heat wasn't up to our after-work temperature yet.

Just a minute or so later I was in the kitchen and I heard a motor noise coming from somewhere. I tried to listen closely to see what it was coming from and it sounded like it was coming from the basement. I went downstairs and it was coming from the area where the water heater and boiler are. I went over there, but it wasn't from them. I felt them, they weren't on and the noise was coming from somewhere else nearby. I kept listening carefully and heard it coming from the other side of the wall... which would be outside.

Back upstairs, I put boots on and trudged through the snow over to the air conditioner outside. Sure enough, it was ON! It was the compressor on the side of the house. So strange! WHY in the world would the air conditioner be on in the middle of the winter during a snow storm.

I went back inside and checked the thermostat. It was set to heat, as it has been for months, and it was saying that it was almost 70 degrees inside. It definitely was not that warm.

After some Googling, we were led to call Nest. The woman we spoke to was really nice and she asked us to do something things to troubleshoot the problem. In total we were on the phone with her for just short of an hour and a half. Unreal. The end result was that she diagnosed the thermostat as having a defective base. She said it was shorting out and causing the air conditioner to turn on! She offered to send us a new one overnight. The only catch was that once we received the new one, we would have to send back the old one. If not, our credit card would be charged.

We didn't want to do this because we really want to keep the defective thermostat. We're worried that if the compressor was running for the whole day it might be burnt out and not work when we go to use it this summer! Now, I really really hope this isn't the case, but let's say it does.... then we will have sent back the defective part which is the only proof that we have that this wasn't our fault... that we didn't do something wrong!

I am just hoping that come the summer everything works perfectly and we can just get a new Nest and move on! PLEASE!

We wound up re-installing our original thermostat to use until we figure out what happened which could be a while!

Anyway, that basically killed our night, we had a lot of things we wanted to get done. I made Macaroni and Cheese while we were on the phone which was a little bit of a juggling act. In fact, I don't even really remember making it because I was concentrating on the phone call so much.

We ate our Mac & Cheese, Dan showered up, I took a shower, and then we hurried to fit in our Tuesday night TV! We watched Better Call Saul and the return of Agents of SHIELD!

So, I like Better Call Saul but I feel like nothing really happens in it. I'm still interested in seeing where it goes but it moves soooo freaking slowly. Sometimes I think that it's like-- AMC would have said yes to anything that the creator of Breaking Bad came up with. And people would watch, or at least give a try, to it. I really do hope it keeps my interest, and I think we probably will continue watching it either way, but I want it to be exciting.

SHIELD came back with a lot of craziness... I enjoyed the episode but I need Fitz to recover already. He's not the same without being the same. Also, WHAT happened the Sky. I'm sure we'll figure that out soon anyway. Glad it's back.

Now it's time for bed. The night flew by! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com