Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 21, 2015 - 10:55 p.m.
"the last week of april = busiest week of my year" or "new patio furniture"

Hey Journal!

This morning I was a little rainy in the morning and I got up and headed to work as usual.

Today was SUCH AN INSANE BUSY DAY! It was definitely the busiest day of the year so far and I didn't even have a chance to get away from my desk much at all. I didn't even take ANY time for a break or do anything personal on the computer! It was wild.

In the morning I worked on the daily closes. That's part of the problem because there were soooo many of them and without Re here to do them on the weekend they're all just waiting for me to find some time to go through them all. There were some weird errors and mistakes, too.

The payroll had to be done today and it was the first payroll of the year since we opened and really got back into the swing of things so there was so much that needed to be done to get it all set.

I also had an issue come up with the website and members who had been inactive in the past. I had an inkling that this was going to be a problem because last year I introduced some new code to mark people who we know are inactive and make it easier to track them but it also meant that their outstanding dues for the years when they were inactive aren't marked as paid or zeroed out. The problem was that when they came back, the system was still registering that they had OLD invoices that were never paid. Because of that, it would shut down their access to the website and recommend that I turn them off on the billing system. The solution was to add a new column to the database to hold the old value of their dues and replace the dues amount with zero when they are made inactive. If they return, the old amount is restored from the saved amount. If they don't come back, they stay as zero and everything works fine! It was a weird problem but surprisingly not as hard a fix as you would think!

Long story short, the day was insane.

I left work at 5 and headed home. We were supposed to get a delivery of our new patio furniture from Target. It was supposed to be delivered between 8am and 6pm so I pretty sure it would be on the porch when I got home. Sadly, it was not! We waited until 6:00 and nothing came! :(

Dan went to the gym and I cleaned up the house. I vacuumed downstairs and then mopped the floors in the kitchen, hallway, living room, dining room, and bathroom. Then I removed the light from our ceiling fan. The light that they had on there was kinda old fashioned and a little weird looking. We weren't a "fan" of it, and we also didn't think that those lights were really necessary. We never put them on and the other lights in the room are all you really need.

I think it looks much better without them.

When I was finished with all this, I went upstairs to get ready for my shower and then I heard a truck pull up! It was our delivery. It came around 7:45.

I went right outside and started to put some stuff together. Our favorite neighbor was out and she yelled to me over the fence..."Presents!!" She was hoping it was something from The Price is Right but it was not. Yeah...the three month deadline is fast approaching and we haven't received either the cash, the tablets, or the fridge and dishwasher yet!

I put together almost the entire two-seater couch thing and then Dan got home from the gym. He took a shower and then it was time to eat pizza. I stopped working on the chair and we ate and watched Wheel of Fortune.

It got dark pretty quickly so when I went back out I could barely see anything. I finished the thing I was working on then started on the table. We did that, but then decided to save the rest for tomorrow. We unboxed all of the the cushions and Dan brought as many of the boxes as we could down to the curb since tomorrow is the recycling pickup! The ones we didn't open yet are pretty big boxes but we'll have to save them for next week.

While Dan cleaned up a little out on the porch I took a shower as fast as I could!

Although it was pretty late already we managed to fit in both The Flash and SHIELD. I am really happy with The Flash because I like that they are actually making progress towards finding out what's going on and knowing that Dr. Wells is up to no good is amazing. I also think it's crazy that they found his secret room.. BUT...don't you think that ONLY Dr. Wells's hand should open that door? I mean, what would have happened if someone accidentally leaned against the wall!

SHIELD was good tonight also. Tuesday is really one of the nights I most look forward to for TV. I keep having mixed feeling about Cal and I want something to happen with Coulson and the OTHER SHIELD. I guess it looks like that's coming tomorrow. I love Fitz... I think Simmons is a little whiney and stuff. I also don't understand May. What is she so sceptical of Coulson all of a sudden. Please!

Anyway, now it's LATE and time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com