Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 19, 2015 - 12:15 a.m.
"the most beautiful day of the year" or "rusty bike" or "screen"

Hey Journal!

What a BEAUTIFUL day it was today! It was absolutely amazing outside. It was not too hot, not too cold, and it was sunny and amazing. I wish it could be like this all year!

Of course, with my recent sunburn, I spent the entire day out in the sun but trying to hide from it at the same time.... but more on that later!

We woke up around 8:00 and that was much earlier than we had expected to be up. We wanted to go out for breakfast, and decided on BLVDs in Nesconset. We called my mom to see if she wanted to meet us there but she had already eaten. She did come and join us, however. We got our food and then headed over to the park at the library!

I'm just sooooo happy that we can finally be outside again. I really miss going out on weekend morning and enjoying the weather and being outside! It's amazing that LIFE is starting to come back! The winter is so depressing with all the dead trees and NO signs of LIFE!

When we were finished eating we had planned to go to Target to pick up our new table for our patio. Unfortunately, we measured the size of my trunk and it really didn't seem like it was going to fit! Ugh! Instead, we went over to get my old bicycle. Well, it's my old new bicycle... It's the blue one I got in 2000. It's a really nice, expensive bike and I did ride it a lot but really... not that much at all.

I was shocked to see that there was so much rust on it! I guess spending ten years in the shed in the backyard without being used at all took its toll. Before we attempted to load it into my car, my mom tried to clean some of the spider webs and dirtiness off of it. The chain is all rusty and it was just in not so great shape. Once the dirt was cleaned off, we had to take off the front wheel and then it fit easily into the back of my car.

When we got home, we unloaded the bike and Dan got to work on the lawn! The first thing he did was sweep the dirt and stuff that was out in the street by the curb. He enlisted my help to collect it with the shovel.

After that, I tried to get my bike in shape. I rode it around the block a couple of times and then I tried to fix the gear adjustments. The chain was rubbing on the gear thing so I adjusted it over a little bit. Now it doesn't rub but it doesn't go into 1st gear, either. So weird.

I can't believe how rusty it got and I tried to get some of it off by looking online to find some remedies. There wasn't really much I could do today but I did try to wash it with some dish detergent and a sponge.

Dan raked up the leaves in the front and the back and then he took a break to have some lunch. We watched American Crime and I had leftover spaghetti from the other day for lunch.

I rode my bike around a couple more times and then at 5:00 we went out to get out of the house for a bit. First we went to the Walt Whitman Mall to get some stuff from Lush. I needed more Mask of Magnaminty and we asked the woman from a recommendation for making wiry hair softer... She recommended something called R&B which is a "leave in conditioner." I'm going to give it a try... although the idea of a leave-in conditioner is kinda annoying. I don't want anything in my hair during the day. I prefer things that you wash out.

After we got that stuff, we went to the Apple store to check out the Apple Watch! This was the first time I'd ever seen one in person. It's really cool and really sleek looking. I think I am really going to enjoy playing with it and it seems like there are a lot of good uses for it. I think it will only get better as more Apps are developed for it, too.

Next, we went to Chipotle for dinner. We went to the one right across from the mall and the line wasn't too bad. It was nothing like the terrible one in Hauppauge.

While we were there, Dan's parents called to tell us they were going out to dinner for Dan's mom's birthday. It was really weird because that was the first we had ever heard about this and then they were all mad at us that we couldn't come. It was just a real mess and I was very upset about it all because Dan was all upset about it.

Anyway, after Chipotle, we went to Home Depot to get some stuff to repair the screen door in our dining room. There were two big holes in it towards the bottom. One of them was sewn together really crappily! I read about screen repair online and I was ready to give it a try. We bought three different sizes of spline and a roll of screen!

We also looked for something to take the rust off of my bicycle. We asked the woman working in the aisle and she turned around and asked the customer who was standing there! So weird! Anyway, in the end they came to the agreement that we should try "Bar Keeper's Friend" and use some scouring pads to try to polish it off! We got it, and tomorrow I'm going to give it a try.

Good old Bar Keeper's Friend!

Next, we went to Target in Central Islip to see about picking up that table. We looked at the box inside the store and sure enough, it was too big to fit. Ugh! We were also going to return a bunch of bottles that we had in the car but their bottle redemption machines were all broken!

We headed home and arrived around 8:15. Dan watched the hockey game he wanted to see and I worked on replacing the screen door. I removed the old spline stuff and then took out the screen. I rolled out the new one and then cut it to size and taped the screen in place. Then came the tricky part! Rolling in the new spline isn't super hard but I definitely learned some dos and don'ts! I was doing a really good job and then, at the last size, the screen ripped right along the track line and it was ruined!! I was so annoyed!

We checked out the Home Depot house and I luckily they were open until 10:00! It was about 9:15. Dan continue watching his game and I went out to get another roll of screen.

On the way there, my phone died and I felt very unplugged and kinda uneasy about that! I couldn't even look up what aisle to get the stuff in!

When I got home, I did the screen process all over again. It went much smoother this time but I had one really tiny area that was separating again. I just put some glue over it to make sure it wouldn't actually rip and would stay tight to the frame. With that in place, it looks amazing! Tomorrow I'm going to put it back in the track.

After that, Dan and I watched the rest of American Crime and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com