Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 26, 2015 - 1:55 p.m.
"up periscope" or "8th grade social studies"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up around 8:45. I know it was early but we just couldn't sleep anymore!

We were hungry for breakfast, so we made plans with my mom to go out to IHOP. She was having her car fixed at Nardy Honda in Smithtown (Nardy Honda, Smithtown...Drivin' prices down down....) and so we picked her up there and went to the IHOP in Lake Grove.

There was no wait at all when we arrived but shortly after we were seated the lobby was packed! We must have just missed the rush.

I decided to get the French Toast special that came with eggs, ham, and hash browns. It was cheaper than the equivalents on the regular menu and came with more food. I had to get all of the crap that they put on top of the french toast on the side, though, since they don't like to give the special unless you get the fancy pancakes. It makes no sense, but I've learned how to get around the system.

Breakfast was good, and then afterwards we went over to Price Club to return some bottles. Since last summer, we've been collecting all of our Kirkland water bottles in a big garbage can outside and, to be honest, we haven't even redeemed any of THEM yet. We just had some inside the house that needed to be done, and that added up to over $3! Next time we got we'll need to remember to bag them up and bring them, too.

After we did the bottles, we all went to the bathroom and I was the first to come out. As I was exiting, a man walking in and I instantly recognized him as my 8th grade Social Studies teacher! It's so weird because if immediately before that moment you had asked me to describe him I wouldn't have really been able to and when I saw him I knew exactly who he was.

He went in the bathroom and then my mom came out shortly after. I told her that I saw him and she said I should say hello when he came out. I told her no, but as soon as he came out she went running over to say hi. I got roped in!

He was nice, he said I looked exactly the same as I did when he had me. I told him he did, too. I suppose it's true because if it wasn't I wouldn't have recognized him in the first place. He guessed that I was 25 or 26 years old which made me feel good about myself but I corrected him.

This part I don't really understand. He asked me if I worked at Costco. Umm? That's kinda weird. I mean, first off, I wasn't wearing the little vest or nametag... and..... I was with my mom? What did he think it was...take your mom to work day?

He told us a little about his retirement, his thoughts on the Smithtown School District and some other random things. My mom asked him how my 8th grade english teacher was doing. They were always friendly and seemed like they knew each other well. He said that he hadn't heard from him in about a year and that they always "saw eye to eye" with regard to teaching but that they "were never buddies." That, to me, was the most interesting part of the conversation because I always thought they were friends.

Anyway, after a conversation that went on a little longer than it should have, we went on with our shopping. Oh, and for the record, he is still as disheveled as always. He had food crusted to his pants and his fingernails were completely black underneath. Dirtyyyyy.

Alas, after Price Club we dropped my mom off to pick up her car and then we went to Target in Commack. We did some shopping and then headed home. Dan and I wanted to go out for a walk and we attempted to go to that random park on Meadow Road but they have all kinds of signs warning that you need a permit to enter. I don't even understand what that place is!

We returned home and took a walk around the block instead. After that, around 4:00, Dan wanted to watch a game on TV and I wanted to clean up my bicycle. My mom had brought me some car wash that she had and I got some sponges at Target so I could shine up the bike.

I'm not sure that this was normal car wash because the instructions didn't say anything about filling up a bucket with water and making suds and all that. It was weird. I think I may have to get some real car wash.

Oh, and exciting news.... In the mail today we got a CHECK from CBS for Dan's big prize money win on The Price is Right! It's the money that represents free groceries for a year minus the taxes on everything! Now we're just waiting for the tablets, charging stations, fridge, and dishwasher! Come onnnnn it's been sooo long!

Later on, we started watching Thursday's American Crime and then Liz came over at 7:00 to go out to dinner. We didn't know where we were going to go but we decided on Smokin' Al's! We arrived around 8:00 and there was a "55 minute to 1 hour" wait. We were craving Al so we waited. We walked down to a nearby park and checked out the facilities there. They had this weird area for "platform tennis" which I had never heard of before.

On the way back, we stopped in a King Kullen because it was sooo cold out! We needed to warm up. I wound up buying a cool old-school cereal called Quisp! I am going to have to give it a try tomorrow. I have no idea what it will taste like!

When we got back, we were next on the list and we wound up being called at exactly 57 minutes which fell right within our quoted wait time! Pretty accurate.

My food was really good tonight but it was weird, the last time we went there I ate everything and I was so shocked. This time, I could barely eat 1/3 of it! I actually like that better. The more to take home for tomorrow (and the next day!)

They always play jazzy music in there and today, when we were seated, they were blasting some really new pop song. It was really weird. Immediately after that, the jazzy pig music came back on!

When we were done, we went to Target in Copiague to digest our meals before dessert and then we headed to Dairy Queen!!

It was great... I got an Oreo blizzard. I loved it!

We got home around 11:30 and we watched some random people on Periscope. Then we watched the rest of American Crime, and now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com