Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

April 29, 2015 - 10:55 p.m.
"new life for an old hose" or "walk-in removal day"

Hey Journal!

Wow! Another intense day. I don't know if today was busier or yesterday. I think on a scale of 1 to 10, today was about an 8 on the stress factor and yesterday was a 9.

On my way to work this morning I stopped at Home Depot to pick up a set of locks for the food refrigeration truck. Last night we didn't have a lock for the side door so I put two zip ties on it to make sure that nobody tampered with it overnight. I mean, this way, at least we would know if someone did!

Luckily, they were still intact when I arrived at work and I cut them off and put the new locks on.

They had already started dismantling the walk-in refrigerators and freezer and they were making good progress! Over the course of the day, whenever I could get a chance, I would go upstairs and see how it looked and when it was time to go home...there was no more box! It looks so weird out there without it!

When Dan's dad and Steve got in I proposed my new version of the e-mail we're sending out tomorrow and they both liked it so I had to change everything and get the new version coded up and ready to send!

Next, I tried to do some of the daily closes before Dan's dad went to the bank. I got a couple of days done but there were so many problems. The Golf Shop is settling into their old ways and it drives me crazy that they can't fix their own mistakes without being asked to do it. This is why I like when Re does the closes because she kinda deals with all their crap and I don't have to. When I have to do it, I don't stand for it. I make them fix everything and bring it back corrected.

In the afternoon, I went to Home Depot because I had to get a chain and some little clamp things to put up near the stairway to the basement. The chef was annoyed because a lot of vendors bring deliveries and go right down to the basement with them without checking in with him first! Now, we have a chain on the staircase and a sign telling them to bring all deliveries to the kitchen.

When I got back I was trying to glue a hook to the back of the sign so that I could hang it from the chain. That was a nightmare. I used Gorilla Glue and it was working fine but I decided to try to hang the sign up before the glue was dry. What a nightmare. It wasn't really a problem as far as hanging the sign but my finger touched some of it and it wound up getting all over my hands.

I had to try to figure out how to remove all this goop! Their website said to use a "gritty soap." My hands were slimy and sticky. I washed with soap a bunch of times and then Kathleen suggested the Ajax powder! I mean, it's really not for your hands but I was desperate. I tried it, and it definitely helped. Then she gave me some lotion to counteract the powdered bleach cleanser on my hands. It actually, all together, helped. When I got home I used nail polish remover, a bar of soap, and more liquid soap. Oh, and shampoo, too! After my shower my hands were feeling pretty much back to normal!

Anyway, back at work we also sent out the Pelican e-mail today letting prospective members know that our special would be ending at the end of May. (It really isn't, but you know...) We got so many responses it was unreal. Towards the end of the day I helped Dan's Dad answer the e-mails. We had over 40 responses!

It was such a beautiful day outside! I kept going out as much as I could to check on the progress with the walk-in box. It was the perfect day!

Oh, and one more thing about my day at work.... When I was done with the bank stuff I put the bag on Dan's dad's desk where I always have put it for years and he moved the plastic on his desk a little, which caused the bag to fall over and hit his coffee cup and spill coffee on his pants! He was insistent on blaming me for putting the bag in a precarious place! I didn't argue with him but he kept saying it all day, how I spilled coffee on him this morning! Dan's mom used the blow dryer to dry his pants.... it was a real scene!

Anyway, I left at 5 and headed home! I tried to decompress after the stressful day and then I did my treadmill time!

-Gym- Report:
2 miles on the Treadmill in 30mins

I watched World News while I was walking and then I took a shower. When Dan got home we had pizza for dinner and watched Wheel of Fortune!

After that, we decided to go out to Lowe's....

There was a hose in the backyard when we moved in and it had a spray nozzle attached to it. The only problem was that there was no way to remove the nozzle from the hose. Dan wanted to throw it out but I thought we could get it off somehow. I mean, it's a long hose and probably would cost about $50 to replace, so I think it's worth keeping! We went outside with an adjustable wrench and tried to separate them but there was no way. I have no idea what they did to this thing but it was impossible. It's almost like it's glued on!

I decided the best course of action was to cut the hose and then get a new fitting for it. I found what we needed online and asked Dan if he could see if they had it at Ace Hardware on his way home from the gym. They did, but it was 8.99! At Home Depot and Lowe's, it was $1.98! Unreal. It's typical though... they ripped us off on paint there once, too.

After we ate our pizza we took a drive over to Lowe's and got it. Later on I cut the hose and put the new piece on. It was really easy to do. I haven't tried it out yet but hopefully it will work well!

Next, we watched The Middle. I thought tonight's episode was good... I liked the "Heck Brothers" logo, I like Sue's new boyfriend, but I thought the whole thing with the cheese machine was a little much!

After that we watched last night's SHIELD! I thought the awkward scene on the plane with Ward was great. I love Fitz....he's really become my favorite character, I think. I don't even know when that happened... but I just love all his scenes. I can't wait to see what happens with this whole power struggle. How does Coulson regain his spot as Director. I mean, he is....so he needs to get these crazy voting people out of his way!

Anyway, it's later than I had planned for bed so I have to get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com