Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 10, 2015 - 9:58 p.m.
"happy mother's day" or "in search of jeans"

Hey Journal!

Happy Mother's Day!

This morning we got up bright and early at 8:00. We had made plans to meet my mom, Grandma, Grandpa, and Dan's parents at the IHOP in Ronkonkoma at 8:50. There was a little bit of a line when we got there but we only waited about 20 minutes.

The place was really busy, and we figured it would be. On the way there we passed Maureen's Kitchen and what mess! There were tons of people waiting and it was mobbed. You'd have to be stupid to go there on Mother's Day!

Anyway, we had a very good breakfast, although our service wasn't the best. They took forever to get the coffee, and then they took forever to bring the food. When they did bring the food, they completely forgot mine. The upside to that was that he never rung it up and it we didn't get charged for it! Wahoo!

Aside from that, we had a good time and the food was good.

We didn't want to bring our presents into the restaurant so, after we ate, my Grandma said we could come back to give our presents there. Dan's parents came over, and we gave my mom the perfume she wanted, Dan's mom got the side sleeping pillow she needed, and my Grandma got a gift certificate to Starbucks!

Dan's parents couldn't stay long, they had plans to go finish and Dan and I hung around for a little while longer and then went to the mall.

I was in search of jeans for our trip. I don't have any actual jeans anymore....my favorite ones have a big hole in the knee and I haven't worn them in months. We went to Pacific Sunwear, Zumiez, and Tilly's. None of them had anything I liked. I tried on two pairs in Zumiez but they didn't fit right. The ones that fit in the waste were too tight in the crotch and the ones bigger were too big in the waist. Ugh!

Dan wanted to try Penny's so we went there and Dan found some Levi's that he thought I would like. I tried them on and they were good, but there were two problems.... the ones in my size were in an ugly color and the ones in the color I wanted weren't the right size. We could have looked around more or ordered them online or something, but they were $70 and there's no way I would spend $70 for jeans!

After that we headed home but made a diversion to Target because we wanted to wash our cars and figured we would buy some car wash stuff. We got a tire brush, the car wash soap, and some little rags to use. We also bought some Round Up to get the weeds...they had a great sale. Buy one big bottle, get another giant refill bottle free! The Round Up we got on clearance last year came out to be .88/oz. This came out to be about .66/oz! Niceeee.

When we got home, we washed the cars. We got the hose in the front and did a great job. The cars looked sparkly and shiny when we were done. It was a short-lived victory, though, because later in the evening we looked outside and the cars were both covered in green pollen stuff again.

In the evening, Dan dug out around some of the sprinkler heads that were buried. The ones along the side of the driveway were spraying but you couldn't even see them....they were covered by lots of dirt and mulch. Now they're spraying much better.

Today was such a nice day outside! It was absolutely beautiful! A perfect day for Mother's Day and a perfect day to be outside and do things outside.

Of course, I made sure to put my sunscreen on before heading out to wash the cars. No chances.

It's actually really hot inside right now. Downstairs it's comfortable especially with the ceiling fan on but upstairs it's really roasting! We opened some windows upstairs but there just isn't a great breeze! I think we're really close to having to turn the air conditioner on for the first time this season!

I did some more packing tonight... It seems like no matter how much I do there's alway more to be done... but I have made excellent progress and I'm hoping that there won't be TOO much left the night before we leave.

I took a shower and then Dan went in to the shed and set off the fogger to get rid of the crazy infestation of carpenter bees that we seem to be having. It's weird because I would have expected to see them flying out after he set it off, and they didn't. I don't know if that's really where they're living... but we'll see tomorrow if any of them are still around. It's still a mystery!

We watched the first half of Once Upon a Time a little after 8:00 and then Dan watched a hockey game and now we're going to watch the rest of the show. It's the Season Finale! Ahhhh.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com