Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 07, 2015 - 10:42 p.m.
"wifi sprinklers"

Hey Journal!

What a mess! I hate when a little project turns into something ridiculous and totally takes over my night and that's exactly what happened today! It's late and I feel all angsty!

Dan and I have been doing a lot of work on our sprinkler system the past few days trying to get it all working right before the summer. This afternoon at work, I went to Home Depot and got some clamps we needed to fix the leaky sprinkler head and I also bought a little extender thing to raise it up a little.

We decided to go ahead and buy something we had been contemplating for a while....the Rachio IRO irrigation system. Right off the bat, it was annoying because we have 9 zones so we had to pay $50 more to get the 9-16 Zone unit instead of the 1-8 zone unit. I looked it up online and found that Best Buy seemed to be the best option for purchasing it. I searched nearby stores and none of the ones on Long Island had any in stock.

The main page said that delivery would be set for Tuesday the 12th and it would be FREE. When I got to the checkout page, the delivery changed to FREE on Friday and $11.99 for Tuesday! What the heck!? So, I was pissed but I noticed the "OR PICK IT UP IN STORE" option. I click that and it said I could collect it at South Setauket. WHAT? I thought it wasn't available. So, I ordered it. I got confirmation that it was ready to pick up and as soon as I left work I headed there. Before I got to the expressway, I had the brilliant idea to call Commack instead and see if they had it in stock. That would save me the trouble of going all the way out to South Setauket when Commack is on the way home. They DID have it!

I took 231 all the way up and then I hit standstill traffic. I had left work 20 minutes early and with a stop at best buy should have gotten home about 10 minutes earlier than usual...but instead I got home 10 minutes LATER THAN USUAL! I was so pissed. At this point, South Setauket would have been faster or the same!

I got the thing and headed home. Dan helped me install the clamp from Home Depot onto the new head and we tested it out. It worked perfectly and wasn't leaking anymore.

Dan went to the gym and I decided to skip my treadmill today to set up the Rachio Iro thing. I went in the basement and unhooked all the wires from the old clock and then fished them through the new device. I had to do it about three times to get it right and it wasn't as easy as I would have liked.

I finally got it all set up and went upstairs to get the cover plate which is the actual device unit. As I picked it up I saw it was CRACKED all over the side. It was smashed. That doesn't really surprise me because the box was pretty beaten up at Best Buy. I guess I learned my lesson.

So, I stopped and took a shower. When Dan got back from the gym we had dinner. I had leftover spaghetti and Dan had leftover pizza. We packed up the Iro and went to South Setauket. We picked up the unit that I had put on hold and then we went to Home Depot to return the little clamps I had bought today that weren't the right size.

We still had to return the other Iro, and we would have done it at South Setauket but with the whole thing where we purchased the one on hold I didn't want to go back in there. As we headed to Commack we realized it was closing at 9 which was only a few minutes away!

We hurried there and made it just in time. Dan ran in, returned the broken one, and we headed home.

So-- We got home around 9:15. My project that was only supposed to take an hour had now taken all night and my brilliant idea to stop at Commack instead of driving to South Setauket had now cost me 20 minutes in traffic and a trip to South Setauket ANYWAY and another trip back to Commack.

SEE. A MESS!

We got home and I put the new unit in and it worked great. Dan and I went out in the dark and set up the system. You have to pick the type of head, the type of grass or plant you're watering, the type of soil, and the gradient.

We were pretty successful even though we were doing it in the dark!

I have this weird thing though... I feel somewhat attached to our old Hunter SRC panel. It's that weird feeling I get when I replace something. I feel like I was connected to it somehow and that I will miss it, and maybe we should have just kept it. I don't know what's wrong with me.

Anyway THAT is the sprinkler debacle. I've already written more than I normally do in an entry...so the rest is all bonus... right?

Today was a nice day and work is finally getting back to normal. Not so stressful and I can breathe again. As I mentioned before, I went to Home Depot today to get the clamps and I got a couple of sizes since I didn't know what I would need.

For lunch I had the French Dip sandwich and the day kinda flew by.

I left at 4:40 and well, the rest you already know. We got home from Best Buy at about 9:15 and by the time we set up the sprinklers it was almost 10.

We watched Scandal and it was a pretty good episode. I just think the whole "Foxtail" thing is going to be weird. I mean, what does he want to do with Mellie? If he wanted to hurt her or kidnap her he would have had one of his many guys do it. Sooooooo.... What's going on?

Anyway... next week is the season finale and of course we will be on a plane so unless they get ABC on Virgin Atlantic which I'm pretty sure they don't.... I won't see it for almost three weeks! Yikes!

Okay...it's late and now we're off to bed. Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com