Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 27, 2015 - 10:30 p.m.
"icarly the pool genius" or "dinner with re"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got to work and started another busy day! I spent some time trying to get caught up and I'm getting through everything little by little! I've been trying to ease into everything and do just a little bit each day of the stuff that was lingering from while I was away. I just have to really crack down sooner or later and make sure it all gets done before it becomes another pile on my desk that never gets touched!

When I got in, I was really really in the mood for a good breakfast. I ordered eggs, sausage, and toast. I got a really big plate with hash browns, too. It was such a good meal. It's funny, though.... the hash browns here were EXACTLY like the "rosti" that we had in Switzerland. As a stand-alone plate they charged about $12 for a plate of hash browns!!! What a joke... here that would be like a $2 side!

Anyway, my first order of business was to fix the Sirius radio in the restaurant. For some reason it kept logging us out and saying that we were "logged in elsewhere." I had no idea what the problem was, but my only guess is that it has something to do with several months ago when we had an old radio that broke and I sent back to the manufacturer and they replaced it. Maybe they fixed up the broken one and our credentials are still associated with that radio and when it's turned on, it logs us out. I tried to change our password online but they don't let you, so I had to call their support line and ask to change the password. It's so weird. They ask you what you want your password to be over the phone. You'd think in 2015 you could do that online....

After changing the password, our issue was resolved! Hopefully that will be the last of the issues with that Sirius radio because I'm so done with it!

The day went by pretty quickly and before I knew it, it was time to head home.

I left at 5:00 and on the way I stopped at Island Recreational. They didn't have a 2" backwash hose, so I left empty handed. I saw that Harbor Freight Tools had backwash hoses for a really cheap price compared to pool stores, but when I got there I couldn't find them in the store and online I couldn't find one that was 100 feet long. I went to Leslie's in Commack. They did have a 2" hose that was 100 feet long so I got it. It was $50 which I think is an unbelievable rip off! I signed up for their rewards program and I also asked about getting our water tested and the girl gave me a bottle to fill up and bring back. I wasn't planning on doing it so soon, however.

When I got home the pool was looking terrible. It had barely changed color after our six gallons of bleach! I'm just getting so frustrated with it. Dan and I had to backwash AGAIN and the water level is dropping like crazy. If we keep doing this there's not going to be any water left in the pool. If we're going to pour a ton of chemicals in the pool and then backwash over and over and re-fill, we might as well drain it and fill it from scratch and skip the chemicals!!

So, we had plans to meet Re for dinner at 7:30 so Dan went off to the gym and I filled up the sample bottle and went back to Leslie's. I called Re and asked to push dinner back to 7:45.

When I got there, the place was pretty empty but the one kid working the register was helping someone else with a sample. He had no idea what he was doing. He was trying his best but you could tell that the things he was saying were just things he had heard before and I had no confidence that he knew what was actually happening. The girl who I had dealt with before seemed really knowledgeable so I was hoping that I would get her! Her name was Carly. I call her iCarly. She just happened to come out of the back at the right time, just before the kid finished up with the other people and I was so happy. She did my water sample and while she was doing it she kept listening to what the kid was doing and had to keep running away to correct it. She would be mid-sentence with me and then have to run over and fix something he was doing and then run back and continue with me. It was a little annoying, but I kinda understand. I think she was in charge and she was trying to keep the whole place together! She was really really knowledgable and explained everything I needed to do. I got a good feeling that she knew what she was talking about....she's my pool expert. lol

I had to buy $110 worth of chemicals. Salt ash to raise the pH, Green to Clean, and a bunch of shock. Fun times. When I got home we put the salt ash in and then got ready to go to dinner.

We met Re at Branchinelli's at 7:30 and we had a nice dinner and told her all about our trip! I got the spaghetti with meatballs (4) and I had some leftovers so I'll have to have them later this week.

I feel like every night this week has been so busy! I can't wait until we get settled back in. I feel like there's so much going on since we got back for our trip.

When we got back home we put the green to clean in and then shocked the pool! I'm really hoping to wake up tomorrow to a crystal blue pool! We still have to shock it two more times, but there had better be some substantial improvement!

Now we're off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com