Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

May 31, 2015 - 12:56 a.m.
"the earth" or "mets game" or "dinner with jen b"

Hey Journal!

This morning Dan and I got up at a pretty normal time and we got right to work on the pool. I don't know what we would have done with all this free time this week if we hadn't been obsessing over turning the green water clean!

We skimmed and then Dan cleaned off the grids with the hose! Then we went to get bagels for breakfast. We went to Blvd's in Nesconset and then went to say Hi to my Grandpa. My mom was home, too but my Grandma was out at church. We filled him in on the details of our trip and ate our bagels there.

When I came outside, my mom was washing Dan's car! I was surprised that she just randomly decided to clean it but it came out very nicely....It looks shiny!

I was standing outside talking to my mom for a while and all of a sudden we heard this loud bang! It was unbelievably loud and it definitely came from the East. A few minutes later, my Grandpa and Dan came outside and asked what the noise was. They both thought it came from the West, but I think it was because they were inside the house. There's no doubt it was from the East or maybe the Northeast. Anyway, we never figured out what it was. Strange!

On the way home we stopped at Leslie's. We reported how the filter looked when we took the cover off. Now we had to buy DE to put into the filter. The DE coats the grids and then helps to filter out the grossness from the pool. The DE is some crazy chemical that they keep in the back room. I don't know how often you usually add new DE when your pool is running normally but we've gone through quite a lot in just our first day!

We came home and added the DE to the filter and then put soda ash shortly after to raise the pH. The pool people said we need to get the pH up so that the shock and Green to Clean can work effectively. Unfortunately, even though we put a lot of Soda ASh in last time, it didn't do too much for raising the pH.

At about 2:30 we left to go to the Mets game. Dan had gotten free tickets from Jimmy who couldn't go because he was going to Harrisburg this weekend.

It was such a nice day out but it was REALLY hot when we got to the game. We were going to have to pay $22 for parking but at the last minute we diverted and wound up parking at the World's Fair area. We had to walk about 15 minutes to get to the game but it wasn't bad because if we had parked in the lot we most likely would have had to wait 15 minutes or more to get out once the game was over! This way, we got right on the expressway as soon as it was over!

Plus, I can't resist walking through the side of the World's Fair. I love everything about it.

So, because of that, the game was totally free. We brought sandwiches and snacks and drinks. Our seats were about as high up as you could be! It was crazy. I don't think I've ever gotten seats that high before. It was fun though... I liked it. We actually moved back a row because we were directly in the sun and the row behind us was shaded. As the game went on, the sun started to get us and we decided to move to some open seats on the other side of the stadium. It was less crowded over there and we could see a bunch of open areas.

We had a fun time but the Mets did not win!

We left around 7:15 and made it to the car by 7:30. Jen B had texted us to see what we were up to so we made plans to go out to dinner and hang out.

We got home and I took a quick shower, we got changed, shocked the pool, and then headed out. We met at Outback in Commack at 9.

I was confused because I couldn't find the Outback Special on the menu anywhere! I think they've retired that name and called it the Outback Sirloin now!

At one point, this random waitress came over to our table and tried to deliver drinks to us but they weren't for our table. She just said, "Rum punch?" and we were all like.... "no... not us..." Anyway, her visit to our table made me crave rum punch! I wound up getting one. They were only $4. What a tactic.

We told Jen B all about our trip, she filled us in about the projects they are working on at her house, and we shared stories about our pools which, apparently, are having the same problems!

After dinner, we came back here and hung out for a while. We played Disney Trivial Pursuit. It was fun but just an observation....there are a disproportionate amount of questions about The Aristocats in that game! Jen B was the winner but I was a close second with all of my wedges in place!

Jen B left around 12:45 and now we're just getting ready for bed. Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com