Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 07, 2015 - 10:53 p.m.
"smithtown day" or "bottle returns"

Hey Journal!

This morning we got up relatively early and we had a long list of things we wanted to get done! We started by going to Smithtown Day! We got there around 10:30 and I was hoping that by going early we'd have more free giveaways available to us!

We parked at the school district building and then walked down Main Street. We saw Liz at the dance place and said Hi to her before we continued. It was the same as every year, but just like every other year, I feel like it's something I HAVE to experience. I got my picture with Peppa Pig and also got a free cooler bag. There wasn't anything all that exciting being given away but we did pass up some free bags and chip clips. Dan didn't want anything!

On the way back we stopped at talked to Liz again and then we headed to Target to pay our bill. We stopped at the new 7-11 on the corner of Harned Road and got some Slurpees! They were great! My only complaint is that I used my rewards app and the guy scanned it but it didn't work! I watched him scan the barcode, I heard it beep, and then I didn't get credit for my purchases! Nasty!

At Target we took care of the bill and then walked around the store. Next, we went to Price Club and got some water, more Preen (because it was a great sale and their website says it never expires,) and we got a Watermelon!

When we got home we decided that we NEEDED to sort out our recyclable bottles. We have collected so many since last year and all winter long we couldn't bring ourselves to go through them, sort them by store, and then bring them back! We finally went out and got them all figured out. We had one bag for Target, one more Price Club, and one for the beer distributor!

It would have been nice if we had come up with this plan in the morning because we wound up retracing our steps! Before doing the bottles, we stopped at Wendy's for lunch. I got a chicken sandwich, nuggets, and a baked potato! We ate there. When we were done, we went to Price Club first and returned all of the bottles there. We had over $7. Then we went to the beer distributor in Commack and got another $4 or so. Finally, we made our way to Target and our grand total from all three places was $15.25! That's 305 plastic bottles.

Some weird things from our adventure.... at Price Club one of the machines was broken and a man was asking the girl to fix it. She had NO idea what she was doing and said she had to open MY machine to fix his. She had to interrupt me and I watched while she opened my machine, reset it, closed it, and SURPRISE-- It didn't fix the other guy's machine. HE had to suggest to the girl that she just reset his machine. When she did that, it worked. Brains. On the bright side, at Price Club you can put the bottles in top or bottom first. At Target the machine is all fussy and really, it's much easier to put them in the way it doesn't let you!

At Target we got some frozen food and then headed home. Dan did some weeding outside and I tried to straighten up inside as much as possible. We need to get things in order again this week because Dan is having some friends from work over next weekend.

After that, we cut the watermelon. We only did half of it and filled up a bunch of ziploc containers. I already ate one full container! The watermelon is good but for some reason we got one with SEEDS! What the heck!? What happened to seedless. We had to pick them out with the knife as we went. Much too much work!

I showered up and then while I was drying off I went online and checked out our Leslie's Rewards account. What a confusing system they have. When you give your e-mail at the store, sometimes it prints your name on the receipt and other times it doesn't. Sometimes it tells you your point balance and other times it doesn't! The problem here is that you never really know if you've gotten your points until you see them online. Then, when I went to Farmingdale once, they couldn't find my account by e-mail OR last name, so they made a new one. I never got those points....and I can't seem to claim them online! UGH! Dan is going to call to see if he can get that sorted out.

Anyway, now it's time for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com