Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 21, 2015 - 10:47 p.m.
"father's day bbq success" or "welcome to summer"

Hey Journal!

Well, today turned out to be a great day for our Father's Day pool party BBQ even if it did rain for a while!

I woke up in the morning and the first things I did was look at the weather forecast. Mysteriously all of the rain was gone! Last night it said we were supposed to have thunderstorms all morning until about 3:00 and I was hoping we would still be able to have people over. Today, there was no rain all morning and a very small chance later on!

With that in mind, we moved the party back to 2:00pm. Originally it was 1:00, then yesterday we moved it to 3, and now to 2!

We got dressed, put the robot in the pool, and then headed out to get breakfast. We got bagels from the one and only Bagel Maniac! Mine was burning hot when I got it and I LOVED it. You don't get really hot bagels that often but when you do, it's amazing! Usually I rip the insides out of a bagel but when it's hot I eat the whole thing!

Next we went to Staples to print out a collage of pictures I made for my Grandpa. It was a bunch of pictures of me and him all put together. I made it quickly this morning and then put it on a USB drive. They printed it on 11x17. We went out to the car and I was looking at it and decided it should be laminated so we went back inside and she laminated it for us. All together it was about $4.

Once it had been laminated, we went to the Home Depot in Commack that's in the same parking lot. We had to return a bag of fertilizer that we bought that was all clumpy and gross inside. Dan had gotten it a while back and when he went to use it it wouldn't spread! We got rid of that and then we looked around to see if there was anything else we needed. We got a pot to move our tomato plant into. Apparently, it should be much bigger by this time and so we need to transplant it because the roots need to spread out!

After that we went to the OTHER Home Depot in the "Commack South" area and we had to return ANOTHER bag of fertilizer that Dan bought but didn't wind up using. We could have returned them at the same place but Dan felt weird returning both of them at the same time but we wanted to get rid of them both today.

We stopped at the Commack Target next to get some cheese and a tablecloth for the BBQ and, much to my delight, the bird woman was in today giving out free samples! She's like a parrot just squawking the same thing over and over! I love her.

Finally, we stopped at Leslie's to get DE that we needed for the pool. We wanted to backwash when we got home and we were fresh out of the powdery white stuff.

When we got home, we backwashed and then Dan sprayed off the driveway. It was really nice and hot outside. We hurried to get everything ready for the party and moved the furniture from the front to the back.

It was beautiful out and at 2:00 my mom arrived and my Grandparents came just a few minutes later. We sat out in the back at the picnic table under the umbrella. I gave him the collage of pictures and then at about 3:00 Dan's parents and Dan's brother arrived.

Dan wanted everyone to play some Kan Jam and so we did that and then went right into the pool because it was so hot outside. The pool was SOOOO refreshing! The thermometer said it was about 78 degrees. It felt cold at first, but I jumped in - I'm brave like that now. It was perfect. Everyone was in the pool for a while. My Grandma even put her feet in.

Don't worry. I was all sunscreened up. I used the Neutrogena on my face and arms and I used the Target sunscreen on my feet!

Dan got out and started up the grill. He put the chicken on and then the hamburgers and hot dogs! It took a while for the chicken to cook but I think it came out even better than it did yesterday!

We also had corn on the cob and Dan's brother started taking off the leaves but then my grandma decided we should microwave them instead. So, we wound up microwaving four of them and then boiling four of them. The microwaved ones were perfect! I think that's DEFINITELY the way to make it from now on! They also stay hot for so long inside the leaves. All you have to do is take off the outside leaves, cut the bottom off, and cut the hair off. It takes like 5 minutes!

After we ate it was time to go back in the pool! The sun was beating down and it was a perfect pool day. My Grandma and Grandpa sat on the side of the pool while we were inside this time. We were in for a while. The solar heater was really working well. You could feel the water coming in warm from the jets. It's probably the only reason the pool was so warm after yesterday's rain!

We all got out of the pool and then not ten minutes later it started to drizzle. At the first drops, we moved the furniture back onto the porch and then just a few seconds after that it was TORRENTIAL RAIN! It was unbelieveable... coming down sideways! We all ducked for cover inside and hung out in the dining room while we waited for it to pass. We were going to set up dessert inside but all of a sudden the rain stopped and the sun came out again!

There was a nice breeze outside, too. We went out, dried off the table, and then we all went back out for round 2!

My Grandma and Grandpa departed around 7:30 and then we placed Bocce. Bocce Ball. We had a fun time and Dan and I were so close to winning but we got beaten out at the last second.

Dan's parents left around 8:45 and my mom hung around the help clean up and for me to help her with a problem on her iPad. She cleaned all the dishes, washed the stove, the microwave, and everything! I vacuumed the floors and then mopped and put the laundry in. I wanted to wash all the bathing suits and stuff.

I updated her iPad and installed all the App updates she needed and then she headed home at about 9:30.

I just took a shower and I am SUPER TIRED but the day was a great success. Everyone had a good time, it was the perfect day for a pool party, and even the rain came at the perfect time. It all went very well.

Now we're just gonna watch a little TV and get to sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com