Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 27, 2015 - 12:55 a.m.
"justice for all"

Hey Journal!

So, today was one of those days that I think is really such an historical time for the country. I know there have been other steps along the way that are a big deal...especially for New York, and so today doesn't affect New York as much as other parts of the country, but to have the Supreme Court rule on same-sex marriage today and set it clear for the entire country was a serious big deal!

I had been following the court yesterday and this morning I forgot about it. I got to work and then all of a sudden I got a notification on my watch. I looked at the TV right away and I caught the ABC News special report!

I watched the news coverage for a while and it was really powerful. I mean, I actually think the most powerful thing is to read the actual Supreme Court opinion. It's very interesting.

What a news day! People are going to talk about this day for a long time. And I'll remember where I was and when I was doing when it all went down.

I often wonder, and I know there are certainly going to be little things to keep working on, but what will become of all these "equality" groups now. I mean, they fought, won, and now they've kinda destroyed their whole purpose! I;m sure some will adapt but I can't see people continuing to donate to their organizations the way they may have in the past.

Anyway-- We had already planned to go to the parade in the city on Sunday and this only makes it more exciting. The only problem is that it's supposed to rain! UGH! :(

Work today was pretty quiet. I don't know if I mentioned it or not but Steve is on vacation until August and today was the first day he wasn't in, so it was definitely quieter in the office.

The day went by quickly and for lunch today I got the steak sandwich. We still haven't identified the "mystery meat" so I steered clear of anything I wasn't 100% certain about.

A little later on in the day we got a delivery of the new ice machine for the restaurant. It's going to go in the basement, but first we had to get it off the truck. Greg got the bobcat with the forks on it and managed to get both boxes off the truck. The guy who made the delivery was nice but he was also a little weird. I say that because Dan's dad was making small talk with him while we were waiting for the Bobcat and then the guy just started telling us his whole story... how long he had worked for the trucking company, his plans for returning and becoming a court officer. Just a little TMI.

Once everything was off the truck, we loaded it into the elevator. Luckily the boxes weren't as heavy as they appeared to be and the big one JUST fit into the elevator!

I departed at 5:00 and headed home. When I got home, I had to get ready to go out but I was delayed by two really annoying guys! I pulled into the driveway just as these two annoying-looking guys with clipboards and lanyards were walking from the neighbor's house to ours. I have no idea what they were trying to sell but it might have been solar or it might have been something else. Who knows. I was on the phone with Dan and as I walked up to the front door they were standing at the end of the driveway eyeing me. I could tell they wanted to say something but I quickly said to Dan, "I'll see if he's home..." and then proceeded to knock on my own front door. I pretended that nobody was home and I was hoping that they would walk away. They didn't. They just stood there waiting for the mystery person to come answer the door. They didn't come, and I didn't want them to know I lived there and start talking to me or asking me whatever annoying questions they were going to ask.

So, I continued the act and walked back to the car and drove away! I circled the block a few times, each time hoping that they would be at another house or far enough away but they kept hovering outside of OUR house! UGH! Why!? I parked at the park down the street for a little while and then made one more attempt. They were walking down the road so I quickly pulled into the driveway and ran inside.

Dan got home shortly after and went to the gym. When he got back from the gym we left to pick up Kristen and then we went to Bahama Breeze to visit Jerry. Just the other day I was texting Jerry and he told me that he was working there now! I had no idea....so, since he wasn't available to hang out tonight, we went to visit him at work.

We had to wait about 45 minutes for a table which was not idea. It kinda messed up some of our other plans for the evening but it all turned out okay. While waiting outside for a table, we had to endure some pretty gruesome sights...especially this ridiculously fat man who was sitting across from us in the weirdest positions!

When we got seated, we all ordered some drinks. Dan and Kristen got the "Painkiller" and I got the Zombie. The Zombie was good but not nearly as amazing as the Zombie from Lotus East!

It was nice to see Jerry and we told him that we have to hang out soon! We made plans for Thursday so hopefully that'll happen. I feel like we rushed a little since we waited so long and we had wanted to do couple of other things tonight.

When we left the restaurant, we had wanted to go to the Target in Westbury and then to All American to get milkshakes! Sadly, All American closed at 10 and it was already 10:00 when we left Bahama Breeze. I think it's RIDICULOUS that All American closes at 10:00 on a Friday night in the summer.

We wanted to go to Dairy Queen instead, but we ALSO wanted to go to Target in Westbury to check out their Pride section. They both closed at 11. We got to Target at about 10:40 and so we wouldn't have made it to DQ.

Our third choice was Sonic. We got milkshakes there and they had 1/2 Price shakes so they were pretty cheap. I got a grilled cheese sandwich to go along with it. Kristen got the "mini-tots" which was literally 6 tater tots!

After that we dropped Kristen off and then headed home! Now we just watched some TV and we're off to bed....

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com