Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

June 29, 2015 - 10:02 p.m.
"table leeeeeeeegs"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up about 10 minutes earlier than usual because I really wanted to be on time today. I got to work a little before 9 and there was no traffic at all on my ride in, so that was good.

Today was Re's first day back for the season! Wahoo! It was great having her in all day... she really worked like crazy today and got everything under control. I was trying to best to keep on top of things as best I could but even despite my efforts, things were falling behind. She paid all the bills, and started on the closes. It was a pretty big task!

The new refrigerator/prep table for the waitress station was delivered today! The big delivery truck driver was the same one as on Friday! Steve took the pallette off using the Bobcat and then we had to come up with the next plan of action. I went inside and moved the old refrigerator out of the way. Then we used the Bobcat to get the unit up the steps and near the front door. We had a hand lift thing to bring it inside, and it was a little tough maneuvering in!

Next we had to get it separated from the palate (it was bolted to it!) and then attach the wheels! It was really a crazy ordeal. Once it was in place, I had to go behind it and snake the power cord through the grate. It was very interesting.

It was up and running and then Kristen (one of the waitresses) and I installed the shelving inside. It came with a bunch of clips and we had to really squeeze them hard to get them into place!

After that, Re and I went out to the bank to get some change for the restaurant and then stopped for Panera for lunch! They didn't have my favorite soup today but I went for my standard Chicken Noodle. We took our food back to work with us because we wanted to get back.

The rest of the day was good... I felt like I got a lot accomplished and I tried to get some papers off my desk. Every time I turned something over I'd find something under it to give to Re! I felt bad. More bills hiding everywhere!

We departed at 5:00 and I headed home. I figure to mention that, waiting for my on my desk this morning, were the table legs I've been asking Mike for for months! I was very excited about it. They were really nice pieces of wood. Well, they looked really nice but when I got them home one of them was all discolored and had a big knot in it. The other three were great, though.

When I got home, I got changed and then as soon as Dan left for the gym, I set up shop outside and painted the legs. I stood them up on the plastic sheet over the new table and then let them dry for a while. Once they were dry-ish, I came outside and put on another coat of paint. They came out really nice. I wanted them to be shiny and I actually don't remember how shiny they look. I'm gonna have to check that out tomorrow.

Anyway, I left them outside again to dry. I also put the robot in the pool because it was in need of a good cleaning. Lots of leaves from the rain over the weekend!

When Dan got back he got into the shower and I started to get things ready to install the legs! I got the screws we had purchased MONTHS ago and took out the drill. Dan got the BBQ started up for dinner and then we got to work on the table. We brought the table-top into the yard and I put the legs in place. They looked GREAT. I used the electric drill to screw the legs in and it worked perfectly. The only problem was the one leg with the knot. It started to split JUST a little at the top when I screwed it in. It isn't bad, but I may paint over it again to make sure it doesn't get went inside the little crack, too.

Dan held the legs while I used the drill and then when we were finished we carefully turned it over! It looks amazing! I'm so happy with how it turned out! Tomorrow I am going to try to go to Home Depot and get those little things that you put on the bottom of table legs that let you screw up and down to level it. It's not that the table isn't level...it's just that I think it would better to keep the bottom of the wooden leg off the ground to keep it from getting wet and weird when it rains and then sits in a puddle of water for a while.

Dan made hamburgers and some chicken skewers for dinner. Those chicken things are amazing. What a GREAT buy at Price Club. They were on sale, too, and only about $1 per skewer. I'm gonna see if we can get back there and get some more before the sale ends! (If it hasn't already!)

It was a beautiful night out so we ate outside at the picnic table and then after that we took a walk. We took an abbreviated walk tonight since we had a lot to do -- with the table legs and then with Major Crimes.

We started walking and our favorite neighbors were out on the porch. They talked to us for a while and said that they really liked that we trimmed the tree at the end of our driveway! She said she had been hoping for that for a LONG time!

After that we did one mile exactly! I didn't even realize it but just as we were walking up the porch my phone announced "1 Mile!"

When we got home, I showered up and then did some laundry. We had planned to watch Major Crimes and just before we were going to put it on, Dan asked me if I wanted a chipwich. I said I wasn't in the mood for a whole one, but we could split one. He said okay and went to get it. He came back with his portion, the entire center of the cookie, and my portion was a crumbled and broken edges! It was disgusting and I was not amused. I decided to just go to bed and let him eat his stupid cookie by himself.

Anyway, now I'm off to sleep.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com