Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 06, 2015 - 10:46 p.m.
"flying and recording"

Hey Journal!

Today I made EXCELLENT progress with learning how to fly the drone! I'll explain all about that first... There was no real golf outing today at work and instead we were holding the qualifying round for a tournament in the area. One of the three nines wasn't being used so I went out and found a nice, quiet area to test out the drone!

I first went with Dan's mom and flew around a couple of times. Everything went really well and I tried to practice my landings. None of the landings were bad but I couldn't get it to land softly and actually stay standing on its legs. The last time, I actually got close. I also figured out how to stop the propellers from spinning. (That does seem important!) It's a little different than David's so it took me a little time to get used to.

Later on in the day, I went out with Re and did some more. The landings were better and everything went well. I had no problem flying around until the end.... I was coming back towards me and I couldn't judge how far away from a tree I was. Turns out I wasn't far at all, and I flew right into the tree! The drone got stuck in the branches. Woops! We got it out, and then headed back in.

Towards the end of the day, I went out with Dan's dad and showed him. It was great. It was a little windy out but the drone really compensated for it perfectly and I was super-excited to try flying with a camera. I landed 100% perfectly, too! It stayed upright and everything!

When I got home, I really was itching to try out the camera. I went in the backyard and tried to take off there. I went up a little and came right back down. There were just too many bushes and stuff around.

I drove down to the park but there were way too many people....on the tennis courts, on the playground, and on the soccer field.

I came back later, after I took a walk, and tried again. This time, there were just a few people playing soccer on the other side of the park. It was perfect. I attached the camera and sent it up. It flew really well. I was afraid that it would be different to fly after adding that additional weight! It wasn't. I took off three times and tried some different things. I even went REALLY high up at one point just to see how things looked from up there!

Later, I watched the video and it was really cool. You could see all down our street... I have learned that you have to go nice and slowly for a smooth video. The sound is wild...it sounds like you're inside a weed wacker! If you mute the sound, it looks so peaceful and serene... when you watch it WITH the sound, it's like a war zone!

It's so fun to fly... I can definitely see why people are into this sort of thing.

Anyway, that was my drone experience for the day.... When I got to work, it was the first thing I did. After that, Re came in and did all the closes and got everything ready for the bank. For lunch I just had a hamburger from outside. They had a little BBQ for the tournament players.

I left work at 5:00 and headed home and Dan called me right away. I was excited to get home and have dinner and stuff and then Dan reminded me that he was going to play volleyball with Lau at the beach! Blast! I got home and watched some of the news and then, like I said, I took a drive to see if the park was empty... but it wasn't.

After World News, I took a walk. I did a little over two miles. It's so weird, the I used the Workout App on the Apple Watch and walked for over 45 minutes. Then, the Green "exercise" ring on the watch only shows 13 minutes of exercise for the whole day! What BS! Also, I found another flaw-- it said I didn't stand during the 4:00 hour but that HAS to be wrong because I flew the drone outside for at least 5 minutes and I was standing the whole time and then I left work at about 4:58 so I was standing while I walked to my car. I don't know...sometimes it's a little wiffy.

My walk went well, I got home, went back down to the park and when I got back I cleaned up a little to try to get ready for Friday. I figure everything I put away now I don't have to worry about later!

I took a shower and then Dan got home around 9:00. He picked up Domino's for dinner and we ate and watched Major Crimes. Tonight's episode was okay but not really that exciting. I was a little bored by it for some reason.

When it was over, I showed Dan my drone footage -- it had taken a while to upload to YouTube. Now, we're just about ready for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com