Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 14, 2015 - 10:55 p.m.
"say no to bathroom attendants"

Hey Journal!

After I went to bed last night I couldn't get to sleep because it was feeling really hot in the house! I checked the Nest App and the AC was on and set to 70 but the temperature in the house was 76! I was really confused. I got up and felt the air vents and there was cold air coming out but I guess not enough!

I checked the filter on the return because we had never replaced it or looked at it since we moved in. It was pretty caked with dust. To my surprise, we don't have disposable filters, instead we have a permanent filter with those plastic screen things. I did some quick research online and found out how to clean them. It said that the best way to do it was to vacuum off as much dust as you could and then spray them down with water (and possibly a mild dish soap if necessary.) So, since it was late, I just went downstairs and vacuumed the filter. I put it back in and it worked much better for the rest of the night.

Then, when I woke up this morning I took it out again and took it outside to wash it off. Lots of dust came out and I used a little brush to get it all off. I left it out on the porch while I was at work to dry off so that we could put it back in when we got home.

On the way to work I stopped at Staples to pick up the Clambake poster. Thankfully it was available for pickup today!

It was another quiet morning so I spent some time getting stuff done but I also had to do the payroll and I had quick an ordeal with that. For the second pay week in a row, there was some weird error notice and people's addresses and direct deposits weren't working properly. I called, waited on hold for 25 minutes and then FINALLY got to speak to some guy who had no idea what was going on. The only good thing is that I love their jazzy hold music. He had me on hold for about 45 minutes and then the problem STILL wasn't resolved. Luckily, it was fixed by the end of the day.... meaning like 4:45! So I had to scramble and submit the payroll before I left. I got it in exactly at 5 so I hope they still deliver tomorrow.

I left at 5 and headed home and Dan and I were talking about the Watermill. He had asked the guy if they had/if we could not have bathroom attendants at the wedding. As you know I am strictly AGAINST bathroom attendants. I hate them. I am perfectly capable of finding my own towel and pumping my own soap. They are creepy and awkward and totally undesirable. Originally, Dan asked him via email and he said they were necessary. I was not going to take no for an answer on that one because NOT having them isn't going to cost the place anything -- in fact it would save them money. We're not looking to lower the price by removing them. They are just like greedy beasts.

Anyway, eventually Dan called them and he was able to get them removed. WAHOO!

Then, I had to clean the filter AGAIN. It had dried while we were at work but now I could see more dust on it! So, I took it out back, sprayed it down and brushed it again and then put it on the porch to dry. While I was out there, I trimmed up the rubber plant a little. I read a little online about how to keep it bushier at the bottom. All of the leaves are currently at the top and it looks gangly and ugly.

While I was out there it POURED and it was nice to sit out on the porch in the rain!

Dan went to the gym and then when he got back we went out to dinner with my mom. We were going to go last night but she was at the beach all day!

We told her that we had some news to share with her and she said she knew we were going to tell her something! She tried to guess what it was and she thought maybe we won the lotto. As I think about it now, I really wish that WAS the news we had to share! I'm kinda bummed out that we haven't won the lotto!

Anyway, she didn't guess so we just told her. Her first words were "I thought you already were." Oh boy! We asked WHY she would think that and she said that back in 2011, Dan had mentioned that he was excited about New York passing marriage equality. We said that just because he was happy about that didn't mean anything! So, she was a little quiet at first but then she opened up after a while. We told her all about the Watermill and stuff and our plans so far.

I got the Lasagna, by the way. I was happy because last time we went there they ran out of it and I had to revert to my usual spaghetti and meatballs. Not that I don't like that but i was in the mood to get something else and sad that they didn't have it.

We got home around 9:00, I showered up, and then we watched Teen Wolf! I have NO idea what's going on in this season so far. In a way it's getting me frustrated because we don't know what's happening and I'm afraid it's not going to make any sense.

Anyway, the filter was pretty dry by the time we started watching Teen Wolf so we put it back in and turned on the AC. It's working well so far!

Until tomorrow..

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com