Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 03, 2015 - 11:45 p.m.
"3rd of july party" or "everybody's heard about the bird"

Hey Journal!

This morning we had plans to go out to breakfast with Kristen at 9:30. Dan set his alarm for 9am last night but this morning I was up and couldn't get back to sleep at 8! Yikes!

I cleaned up a little downstairs and tried to get things ready for our Big N pool party later in the day! I figured I would get some stuff done in the backyard, too... but when I opened the sliding glass door to go outside I set off the alarm! Oops! Dan woke up because the alarm went off and then he had to answer the call from the alarm company!

I think he went back to sleep for a little while and I went outside and put the robot into the pool to get it nice and sparkly for the afternoon.

Dan did get up earlier than his alarm, around 8:45 or so, and came outside to start setting up.

At about 9:45, Kristen came to pick us up for our breakfast! We wanted to go out to Relish and have a real scandalous weekday excursion. It did make us feel very FREE to be going out to breakfast on a Friday morning. This is what excites us now... being out of work on a day when other people are working! It's the little things!

I got the egg special and both Kristen and Dan got meals off the "special" menu.

After we ate, we took a walk across the street to the Kings Park Bake Shop. I had never been in there before but I loved it! It had such a nice old-school bakery feel and it smelled so good when we walked in. I couldn't resist buying some cookies. We got ones with little rainbow sprinkles for the 4th of July and we also got a black and white cookie to split!

Next we went "down bluff," checked out the beautiful view, and walked around a bit. It was such a nice morning. The sky was blue, it was warm, and perfect!

After Kristen dropped us off at home we had to go out to do some stuff to prepare for the afternoon. We took our empty water bottles back to Price Club in Commack and we had to stock up on stuff for the party. We needed more hamburgers, hamburger buns, and chicken skewers. They were still on sale so we got three packages of them and are going to freeze them for the future! What a great deal and they taste so great!

We also stocked up on paper towel, tissues, and toilet paper while we were there.

After we found a parking spot, Dan found a big block of cheese that someone purchased and left in their cart! It was still really cold so it must not have been out very long. It was fully wrapped, so Dan claimed it and put it in our car. Freebie, I suppose!

When we got home, we unloaded the things we bought and then Dan went to fill up our propane tank at the weird Garden Center place on Jericho and then went to ShopRite to get corn! We were planning to make it in the microwave which is a really amazing way to make it but Dan shucked all the corn at the store and didn't leave any of the stuff you need for microwaving! AGH!

I put everything that we bought away, finished getting everything ready for the party, made some lemonade and iced tea, and then went to take a shower. This time, I made about half of the lemonade and iced tea as last time so that I wouldn't have TOO much left over. I love that stuff, but it doesn't last very long and I didn't want to waste it. (In the end, we still had about half of what I made left!)

When Dan got back, he did some stuff in the backyard and then Lau and Ryan arrived.

I was upstairs taking a shower when they arrived but I quickly got out, dried off, and then I applied my sunscreen! You know me... ever since my incident in DC this spring I will not let that happen again!

We hung out for a little while and then we got right in the pool to make the most of the warmth of the day!

Shortly after we got into the pool, Jen B arrived. She went inside to get changed into her bathing suit and I asked her to go upstairs and get our towels! I had them all ready to go but forgot to bring them out!

We hung out in the pool for a while, had some snacks and drinks, and had a great time. It was really nice to stay in the pool for a while and just enjoy! There was a little breeze which made it feel a little cool in the pool at times but it wasn't too bad.

When we got out, Dan fired up the grill and started making our BBQ lunch!

While Dan was cooking the food, our favorite neighbors were in their backyard playing wiffle ball and the ball kept coming into our yard! They kept running over to get it... I love them! Dan went over for a while and hit some home runs! So crazy!!

We made corn on the cob, hamburgers, hot dogs, and chicken skewers! Woo Hoo!

We finished eating and then about 45 minutes later, Re and Rob arrived. They were supposed to be over at like 4:00 but got delayed and arrived more around 6:30.

Dan organized a game of flip cup and we had a lot of fun playing that and dancing around to the music! After that, we all went back in the pool. As we know, Rob loves pools!

Ryan and I were real troopers and we stayed in the pool until it got dark out! Dan turned on the pool light and it's really nice how it lights up the whole thing! I love night swimming. I really hope we have some nice HOT days so we can enjoy the pool in the evening. This summer has been pretty lame weather-wise so far, so I'm hoping we turn this around soon!

Re and Rob left at 8:30 and I'm not really sure why, but they headed out rather early.

an fired up the BBQ grill and made more food and Jen B, Lau, and Ryan hung out until about 10:30!

I had a LOT to drink today and my stomach is feeling a little weird right now... Once everyone had left, we showered up and now we're going to watch an episode of OITNB. After that we're getting right to bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com