Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 24, 2015 - 11:34 p.m.
"biggest funeral lunch" or "lotus with liz"

Hey Journal!

Happy Friday!!! Work today was very different than my usual Friday. First, it didn't feel like a Friday at all since I had taken off on Tuesday and Wednesday, so every time I realized it, I was very excited!

I had a few random things to work on in the morning but I also had a lot of free time to get some personal stuff done as well. The morning went by pretty quickly, but the afternoon was INSANE!

We had a REALLY large funeral lunch. At first they were supposed to have about 100 people but they called in the afternoon to say they may have as many as 140. Well, on Friday the parking lot is always pretty packed so we knew it was going to be wild. When they started arriving, Dan's dad went outside and tried to direct traffic a little and help people find the open parking spots. He parked people along the curb and amazingly everyone fit in pretty well!

I hung out upstairs to see if I could help in any way. They had SOOOO many people and we had to bring out more chairs, get them more silverware, and just keep the food coming to the buffet. Earlier in the day, Jackie had mentioned that she didn't know how she would get a count of them all. So, I made it my mission. Early on, I started walking around and counting the seats. Even though people were up, in the bathroom, talking to other people, and going in and out, I counted the seats. It was pretty easy to tell where people had been sitting. I just kinda milled around the room, and then made my way out on the patio. I didn't want to be too obvious about it, so I tried to just keep it all in my head. The first round I got 182. I decided to do the same method again, and I got 179. A little later on, people had almost all finished eating and there were less people up and milling about. This time I tried counting actual bodies and it was a little nuts because I subtracted people as they went out on the patio so that I wouldn't count them twice! I had to count the buffet line quickly... it was wild... but this time I got 181. So, we went with 180 as the final number!

It was intense. We were all pitching in to do whatever we could to help out. It was a mad house! Luckily it all died down around 4:45 as they finished their desserts and so I departed promptly at 5pm.

When I got home Dan went for a walk instead of going to the gym. He actually did a pretty fast 12 minute mile! When he got home, he got showered up and we went out.

Our plan was to pick up Liz and go to Lotus East but before that we went to the Middle School to see Alexandra do some kickline thing. I really wanted to see the inside of the school... I haven't been there since middle school, I think, and I want to refresh my memory about what it looks like inside! Unfortunately, all of the main doors were locked and they had gates closed that led from the gym into the main part of the school! I could not explore! Meanwhile, the gym brought back some vivid memories for me! We stood in the wrestling room to watch the kickline thing and I always remember that room being so dark and creepy!

Some of the groups of girls were sooooo bad. They were complete messes and had no idea what they were doing. The weirdest part, though, was that the music they played for each routine was so low that you couldn't hear it!

Anyway, when it was over we went to get Liz. We got to her just a little after 7:30 and we headed off to Lotus East. We told her the good news about the wedding and she had lots of good ideas for us about centerpieces and even recommended a DJ and photographer that her sister had used and was very happy with!

Our waiter was wild. Dan and I got Zombies and Liz got the famous Scorpion Bowl. The woman didn't make the drinks this time... some random guy did, and they were not nearly as strong as the last time! This time I didn't leave feeling like a zombie!

Dinner was good and afterwards we headed back, dropped off Liz, and now here we are back at home! We have a pretty packed day tomorrow and we have to get up early to get started so we're gonna call it a night!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com