Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 26, 2015 - 11:45 a.m.
"japanese bbq" or "jro in the city"

Hey Journal!

Well, we just got home from the city so I'm here to fill you in on the details of our jam-packed Saturday!

We woke up yesterday at 8:30 and got ready to go out to breakfast with Kristen. We wanted to go see Norm at the bagel store. It's been so long since we've gone there that we weren't even really sure if he was still playing there anymore. Luckily, he was. We got there around 9:25 and he started at 9:30. We got our bagels and breakfasts and sat down to enjoy his beautiful tunes!

We made a list of the songs he played that we really liked so that we can tell him what we'd like him to play at the cocktail hour. He was excellent, as always! When he took a break, around 10:30, he came over and spoke to us for a while. He congratulated Dan and I and he talked a little about his plans... he's moving, and we told him a little about what's been going on with us for the past year or so!

After that, we had to hurry home because Dan's Uncle, who was up visiting for a wedding, wanted to come by and see our house. They came over at 11 and so we needed to be back by then. We got home, and then gave them the grand tour. We took some pictures of them before they left because they were all dressed up to go to the wedding.

As soon as they left, we hurried to Leslie's to get our pool water tested. We also wanted to buy some shock because they are having a big sale and it ends tomorrow. Now -- this is really weird. The guy who works there is really strange. Remember, once, I saw him steal money -- well today he did something else really odd. We told him we had the coupon for the shock and he said "oh, they discontinued that a few weeks ago... We're not offering that anymore." Dan acted surprised and he explained something about how too many people took advantage of it and they had to discontinue the promotion. It was very odd.

He's weird, so we didn't press it. BUT, it makes absolutely no sense. First, he's saying that they discontinued it weeks ago but I looked back and I got another e-mail about it on Friday saying "three days left!" Also, it's still on the Leslie's homepage!

I really think, and I have no idea why, but I think this guy is a little bit of a pathological liar. Now, I don't think it makes ANY difference to him personally if we didn't use our coupon for the sale, and I don't think he has any reason to discourage us from buying things... but I REALLY think he likes to make shit up and see what he can get away with. It's odd.

Anyway, we're going to the other location to use our coupon today before it expires. I have a feeling it's not going to be an issue at all, but I'll be sure to let you know.

After that we came home and then packed our bag for the evening. At night, we went to the city to meet up with JRo who's in NY for work this week. He actually left to go back home this morning. So, we packed up our stuff we needed for the night and then we headed out around 1:00.

Oh, and last night I finished making the special project I was working on for MONTHS for Dan! I didn't make it for any reason in particular... just to make a nice video for him to enjoy! I worked so hard on it for so long and then I took a couple of breaks for it, and finally got back to work on it recently. So, in the morning I generated the actual final file and then when we got back from breakfast I started uploading it to YouTube.

Just before we left, we had a viewing and I showed Dan! He really loved it. It came out so great and I was so happy with the finished product! I didn't actually get to watch the whole thing before I compiled it because the computer is on its last leg of memory with this project. It's a beast! There was just ONE little error... I was supposed to put a Date on one of the clips and I forgot. :( So, it says "INSERT DATE!" Oops! I could just pop the date in and re-do it... but I haven't yet!

After that, we left here and it was shortly after 1:00. Before going to the city, we went to a BBQ that one of the people Dan works with was having. It was at the Avalon apartments in Westbury. The apartments there look incredible. They look super nice on the outside, and the pool and BBQ area that we had was great, too.

There was lots and lots of "meat" and I particularly like the pork. We ate, hung out for a while, and then departed around 3:30. It was very interesting to meet the people that Dan works with...especially all the japanese people who I had not met before....all at once.

When we left, we went to the Target across the street and got a couple of snack items for the city as well as some water. It's always important to hydrate properly! We hit a little traffic on the expressway but made it to the parking garage a few minutes after 5. We had found a pretty good coupon... $40 for overnight parking. (The train would have been $76 and at of course, with the car, we could leave whenever we wanted!)

We met JRo at his hotel room at the Park Central Hotel and then we went to a couple of bars. We had two drinks at the first one... it was cowboy /country themed and the cowboys dance on the bar. It's a little weird, actually... and their drinks weren't that good! Next, we went to a bar called Therapy. It was relatively early so the places were pretty empty but it was nice to sit and talk. I had two more drinks there, and they were two for one. They were WAY stronger than the first two and I was soooo drunk so fast! All of a sudden it hit me and I could NOT partake of any more. I even had two waters there I was still feeling it for the rest of the night.

At about 9:45 or so we left the bar and went to find dinner. The original plan was to find a good restaurant but I couldn't find anything I wanted at one and then all of a sudden JRo suggested that we got to Chipotle. I was all for that so we hurried since they closed at 10. The people there were in such a rush to get us in and out. They really jipped me on steak and I was sad about that.

We sat and ate our food pretty quickly. At the table next to us was this couple who were legitimately eating their food and definitely not dilly dallying or anything and this bitchy worker came up to them and said "we've been closed for 15 minutes....you need to leave soon." I think she was kinda also telling us, too, but she was really telling them, and that was so uncalled for because they were not being a problem at all.

After we left there Dan and JRo wanted to get some alcohol at a liquor store and then go back to the hotel room but we also really had to go to the bathroom so we went into a random hotel, used the bathroom in their lobby, and then continued on our journey!

We got back to the room at about 11:00 and we hung out for a while and did some random stuff and then, I guess around 11:45 or so we went to sleep! I was exhausted. I did drink a lot of water before I went to bed and I kept waking up, almost every hour, throughout the night. Each time I had more water and I did take some Advil, too.

JRo had to leave to go to the airport around 6:30am and Dan and I slept until about 9:45! I woke up and saw the time and I was shocked. We had planned to leave at 9... but it was no big deal. We got up, got ready and then Dan went down to get the car from the garage.

We paid $40 because we had a coupon...it would have been $62!

On the way home we went to McDonald's for breakfast once we got out of the city. Anyway, we got home and we've got a couple of things to do this afternoon so I'll be back later with more.

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com