Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 02, 2015 - 10:28 p.m.
"sagamore hill: restored"

Hey Journal!

Phew.... What a busy weekend. I'm happy that we finally had some time to relax but at the same time I can't believe tomorrow is work already. It feels like it went by too fast!

This morning we got up at 9:00 and went for a quick breakfast at McDonald's. I went for the Big Breakfast since I wasn't sure when we would be having lunch or dinner. I tried to pay using my watch but forgot how to bring up the credit card option. I used my phone instead. Of course, the second after I paid I remembered that you have to double click the button. Blast!

Next we went to Sagamore Hill to get tickets for the house tour. Yesterday the woman on the phone told us we should arrive by 9 to get tickets but we got there at 10:15. Luckily they still had availability for the 2:00 tour. We got our tickets and then went down to the museum. We perused the life of TR and a really crazy guy gave us a little introduction to the house we were in and the museum.

We had time to kill before our tour so we left and went down to the Theodore Roosevelt gravesite. It's at the end of the road to the house and I don't think I had ever been there before. It was up on top of the hill in a quiet area and it's a little surprising that it isn't a bigger deal but I like that.

We drove around Oyster Bay a little and then we made our way to the Roosevelt Field mall. We walked around there and I got myself a pretzel to hold me over until dinner!

We returned to Sagamore Hill for the tour and arrived on the porch around 1:50. We listened to the guide answer some questions out on the porch while we waited for the tour to start. At 2:00, we went in the front door and I was transported back to the first time I had visited there with my cousin one summer. It's so amazing inside. I love the hallway with the dark wood and I love how dark it is inside. The hallway and the large added room on the back are the best part of the whole house.

The house was closed for three years and just reopened about two weeks ago! It was cool to go back in there and I was happy to see that it was just as I had remembered it. I love that the first floor is almost exactly how they had it when they lived there. The worst thing is when they change things and said they recreated a typical home of that period. It's a sham and I highly dislike it. This is perfect.

The tour was good. We only had one annoying couple. They kept setting off the alarms by leaning too far into the rooms! She kept setting it off but didn't even realize it. She was a MESS. Everyone was like "MA'AM!"

Fred only set the alarm off once and the woman next to him was really quick to throw him under the bus! "IT WAS HIM!"

We toured the upstairs and I love how hot it is inside. It has that REAL summer feel to it.

After we were done we made our way back to the car and then we went to Cheesecake Factory for dinner. I got the lunch portion of the Crusted Chicken Romano.

When we were done, we dropped Fred off at the Westbury train station. We figured that was better because it was a shorter ride and less expensive than Kings Park.

We waited with him until the train came and said our goodbyes on the platform! He took the 4:58 train so we were on our way back home around 5.

The weekend FLEW by! Meanwhile, when we got home we relaxed a little, Dan went in the pool but it was too cold for me. It was only 85 in the pool and the temp was around 88. We need REALLY hot days. We haven't had any yet.

HOW is it already Sunday night!?

We took a two mile walk around the neighborhood around 9 and then when we got home I showered up and now it's time for bed. Back to work after a three day weekend. Can't wait!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com