Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

July 29, 2015 - 11:46 p.m.
"almost got a ticket" or "almost a hot day"

Hey Journal!

This morning on my way to work I ALMOST got a ticket!! I got up, got ready, and headed out. I had to stop at Staples on my way, so I went to the one in Commack.

When I was finished, I pulled out onto Larkfield Road and made a left towards Jericho. Just as I was approaching, the light turned red and, knowing how long of a light that was, I wasn't in the mood to sit and wait. I decided to divert through the Panera parking lot and do what they like to call "avoiding an intersection." It seemed like a solid plan but just as I was pulling out, I saw that a police car was behind me. Not so good. I instantly formulated a plan. In the Panera parking lot there is also a Golfsmith which juts out a little and makes it impossible to see the Panera and I used this to my advantage. It was too late to stay in the parking lot, I was already in the exit area and couldn't back up. I started looking around like a giraffe. I was confused. I pulled out slowly onto Jericho and as soon as I could see the Panera but BEFORE the policeman could put his lights on, I turned BACK into the Panera parking lot. My story was going to be, if questioned, that I was trying to go to Panera, thought I was turning into their lot, then thought I was in the WRONG lot (since you can't see it!) As I pulled back in, he followed me. He was skeptical of my intent. I pulled slowly to the front of the Panera. Parked, and scurried inside. For breakfast, obviously.

So, I avoided an incident. I used the facilities there and then headed to work! Phew.

Today was pretty quiet but I got a lot of stuff done today.

I spent a while getting the new payroll system set up. Last week they upgraded us to their latest version and it has a lot more features than the old one. I had to enter Job Titles and "reports to" for every employee. It was good to get it all in there, though, and now the whole system works a lot better.

Earlier in the week I tried to submit the monthly payroll and there was a problem with the new calculation for the 401k plan. They have also assured me that TOMORROW I can process the monthly payroll and the new changes to the 401k plan will work. I certainly hope so because tomorrow is the deadline. I don't feel like spending the whole day trying to sort out another problem.

For lunch I had ravioli with chicken in a garlic and oil sauce. I asked for "herbs" but they left them out. Sad.

I left work at 5 and headed home. It was supposed to feel like over 105 degrees today but even though it was really about 93 it didn't feel quite that hot. Dan and I had planned to go in the pool as soon as we got home and were really looking forward to cooling off. We got out there shortly after we go home but it was kinda cool already. The water was 88 degrees but when I got in I felt COLD!

We watched World News on the iPad from in the pool. When we got out we put the vacuum in the pool, loaded Dan's laundry into the washing machine, and then got ready to go for our nightly walk.

Kristen came over and we walked around the neighborhood and went over to the track. We made a couple of laps around it and then headed back. We wound up doing over three miles, however for like 2 of the three miles, Kristen was on her phone so we didn't really get to converse with her much.

It was pretty hot and muggy out tonight so it was a bit of a sweaty walk!

When we got home I put the laundry in the dryer and hung up some of the stuff to dry on the little rack. Then we got all set to watch Teen Wolf!

I'm so confused. Every week I think that I'm going to finally figure out what's going on and the mystery just deepens even more. The show is so weird now.

Anyway, now we're just about ready for bed...

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com