Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 14, 2015 - 8:41 p.m.
"bolder extravaganza" or "millers with joe" or "yep, i'm 21"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up and headed in to work for yet another busy day! Luckily I didn't have anything pressing to work on planned for this morning because, when I arrived, Dan's dad called and told me that Steve wanted to make the word "Extravaganza" on the banner outside a little bolder and wanted me to see if I could fill it in with a marker.

I went to Staples to see if they had a FAT marker and they did have something I thought would be compatible but I wasn't 100% sure it would work. When I got back to work, I was still thinking of how markers smear a lot and don't always look so good, so I came up with another plan. A while back, I had bought plastic paper. It's actually called polyester paper. Anyway, it's really durable and weatherproof. I printed out the wording for the banner in the same size and on this paper. It came out great, I cut it to size, and then I went outside and affixed it to the banner with our spray glue!

It was really great....it also made me mad because we had JUST spent $75 on a patch to update the date of the event from last year and I now realize I could have used THIS method and saved all that money! What a ripoff!

Anyway, I had a lot of things to do after that. When Steve got in we had to decide on a healthcare plan for next year! We had to get that done today because there's not much time left before our plan renewal so we need to make a decision and, on top of that, we're switching from large group to small group and that's going to take some time to get all the paperwork submitted!

For lunch I had pasta with chicken and broccoli in a garlic sauce. I feel like I've had that a lot recently but it's sooooo tasty and it's a good alternative when I want something plain that isn't the same three things I always order off the menu!

We had more drama today with the cleaning lady who apparently quit yesterday but Dan's dad called he today to beg her to come back. It's such a ridiculous story... I can't even.

I departed at 5:00 and headed home. There was a little traffic but it wasn't terrible.

When I got home, I was really in the mood to exercise! Dan went right to the gym and I decided to ride my bike. I had been wanting to ride my bike for a while but just hadn't gotten around to it. The chain was soooo much better.... I had oiled it a few weeks ago but never tried it out. It had been all rusty and now it looked good as new and wasn't as clunky! I rode up and down as many streets in the neighborhood as I could. I really tried to cover a lot of ground and I ended up doing 5.5 miles!

I pulled into the driveway JUST as Dan was pulling in.... it was PERFECT timing. I put the bike away and then Dan and I for a walk! Lots of exercise today!

I just showered up and now we're getting ready to go to Miller's in Commack with Joe, one of Dan's friends from work! We had a fun time last time but I wasn't able to drink because I was the designated driving. This time I've asked my mom to come pick us up at midnight so I should be able to drink and have an even better time! :)

I'll be back tomorrow with another update!

Saturday, August 15, 2015 - 9:20am

So I'm back with an update on last night's trip to Miller's. We got there around 9 and Joe was waiting outside for us. We asked for a table, were given the number 36, and told to wait until our number came up on the little red screen. There was even an instruction card to go with the number, in case you didn't know how the system worked!

For our first drink, Dan and I shared this pitcher of Arnold Palmer. It definitely had some alcohol in it but I didn't taste any of it and I didn't really feel the effects of it. I wasn't sure if I was going to like it which is why Dan and I decided to split it.... but it turned out to be pretty good. There must not have been a LOT of alc in it and I suppose that's why I really didn't taste any!

After that I switched to the famous cranberry/vodka. I was certainly able to taste the alcohol in that. The waitress, when verifying our age, said that she thought I was about 21 and said I looked like I was the same age as Joe. She said Dan looked older. Sorry, Dan!

We had a fun time, talked, and hung out until about 12:30. My mom came and picked us up and brought up home. :) I had some water, took an advil, and headed off to bed.

Now we're up and ready to get our Saturday going. Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com