Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 15, 2015 - 11:49 p.m.
"relish" or "how to be distinctive af" or "clambake 2015"

Hey Journal!

Wow!! What a full summer day! We've been out and about doing fun stuff since early this morning. It all started when we got up this morning around 9:15. They were forecasting a day in the 90s so we figured it would be a great pool day!

We put the robot into the pool to get it ready for us and then got ready to go out to breakfast to Relish with Kristen. She came at 10 and picked us up and we headed over. Surprisingly there were plenty of parking spots available and we didn't have to wait for a table!

I got the egg special, of course. I was a little tempted by one of the specials of the day.... funfetti french toast! I know, pretty wild! none of us had the courage to get it, though.

After that we went to Leslie's in Commack to use a coupon we had for $10 off a purchase of $40 or more. We couldn't figure out what we wanted/needed so we didn't wind up getting anything.

Earlier in the morning we weren't sure if we wanted to attend tonight's Clambake at the golf couse but we decided that IF we were to attend we would need to get some nice Clambake attire! We wanted to get nautical-wear... like those shorts with little crabs or lobsters on them!

We went over to Target to see if they had anything appropriate. Sadly, their nautical clothing was not happening.

Next we went over to Old Navy by the mall to see if they had anything. They didn't, so we went to the mall. We started with H&M and they had some good stuff for me. I got a pair of shorts and a nice shirt. As it turned out, the shorts were a little short on me and I didn't wear them tonight.... so I'm actually going to return them. The shirt was great and it was on sale! It was only $6.99! It was the only one of its kind that we could find and it happened to fit me really well. It was an XS!

Kristen looked in H&M and found an outfit but the shorts didn't fit well. We went to a couple of other stores and then wound up at JCPenney. She found a nice dress that she liked and it was on a sale rack with a lot of other dresses. Unfortunately, it didn't have a tag on it and there were no other ones of the same style. We got on line at the registers and it took forever because they were having major computer problems. Most of the other dresses that looked similar were either 39.99 or 34.99. The lady couldn't figure it out and so she just said "It's $21." Kristen didn't argue! It was a great deal!

After the mall, we headed back to Miller's because Dan had to get his car that we had left there the night before! We stopped off at 7-11 on the way and took advantage of the FREE Slurpee offer today! I love their app...so many rewards. Kristen didn't want to download the app, so she had to pay for hers.

It was feeling pretty hot outside and so we decided to go in the pool. We got home, put on our bathing suits, and sunscreened up! Unfortunately, as has been the case most of the summer, it was less hot than we had anticipated. The pool water was in the low 80s and the outside temperature never made it to the 90s. Instead it was in the mid 80s and the breeze made it feel chilly in the water! I am so sick of this wiffy summer. We have not had those unbearably hot days! I don't want them all the time but I need them at least a few times so I can go in the pool and bask in the summer!!

After the pool, Kristen went home, Dan went for a walk, and I took a shower. We got ready for the Clambake and then picked Kristen up at 6:30!

Dan had a nice summery pastel outfit on, I had my new clothes, and Kristen had her $20 dress! We were feeling distinctive AF!

Last year Dan and I wore shorts and when we arrived we felt VERY underdressed and had to go to Target to get a change of pants! I couldn't believe it. This year we wore shorts AGAIN and we were a little nervous about it. I brought a change of clothes just in case but this year it was perfectly acceptable!

Norm was here setting up when we arrived and so we went over and said hello to him! Nothing beats sitting outside at night listening to the great sounds of Norm!

Clambake was good... I had the filet mignon and it was very enjoyable as were the little mini potatoes. I loved them!

We stayed there until about 11:30 and then brought Kristen back home. After that, we hurried over to pick up my old VHS cabinet from my mom. My grandma is in one of her irrational basement cleaning moods so I figured I would take some of the stuff I actually wouldn't mind having around right now.

We had to be quick because we wanted to be home by 12! No night time driving for me.... we're less than a week away from our insurance thing being finished and I've managed to make it this far! I want to keep the record! It looks like my discount will be around 15% if everything stays the same. That's not bad.... It'll be a nice savings. I would have liked more but think it's near impossible to get much better than that.

It wasn't as close as last time, we got home around 11:45, brought the cabinet inside, and now ere... exhausted after a long day, getting ready for bed. Exhausted after such a packed day! Basically doing stuff from 9:30am until 11:45pm!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com