Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 13, 2015 - 10:28 p.m.
"withdrawn" or "buried under mountains of work"

Hey Journal!

Wow! What an intense day. I was so busy. I got up this morning at the usual time after getting a really poor night's sleep. I kept waking up and couldn't fall back to sleep all night long. My mind was racing about stupid stuff and I just couldn't relax. Then, about a half hour before I was supposed to wake up, and just when I was finally sleeping well (of course)... I was woke up by the sound of the lawn people coming to cut our grass.

This is only the second time in the year that we've lived here that I've seen them cut the grass. Usually they come while we're at work and the only other time I saw them was when they couldn't come on their regular day because of rain and they came on the Saturday of our housewarming party!

So, I got up and got ready for work/court! I had to go to court today for one of the deadbeat members who didn't pay his bill.

The paper said to be there at 9 but I remembered from last time that there's a whole lot of waiting around. First, you have to go through the metal detectors and then sit in the lobby until they open the doors to the courtroom at 9:30. Once you're inside the courtroom they take about 20 minutes telling you the rules of the court and at 9:50 they did the "first call."

There are three things that they tell you to do when you're called. 1) Stand up. 2) Say if you are the plaintiff or the defendant. 3) Say "Ready" or "Not Ready." Very simple.... or so you would think. I was one of only two people in the whole room who acted correctly! Everyone else either remained seated, said something like "HERE" or "Yes!," and most people didn't say if they were ready or not.

The judge was kinda mean and nasty to the people who didn't do what he had said but, come on, they kinda deserve it because he JUST went over the whole thing and you can't even follow those simple instructions!? What's wrong with these people?

There's a lot of boring sitting around time but I did get to hear one case. It was pretty ridiculous, but I enjoyed it. There was a man suing a doctor he went to because he wrote the wrong dosage of medicine on his prescription and CVS wasn't able to fill it. He said that he tried to contact his doctor who, incidentally, was not the doctor he saw by calling a number that was not the number on the prescription paper. He wasn't able to get in touch with him and, as a result, he had to go the weekend without his antibiotic. He was able to contact them on Monday and all got figured out. He was suing because he refused to pay the doctor the $160 that his insurance requires him to pay as a deductible.

Sadly, they judge doesn't give his decision on the spot... you have to wait two weeks for a result. By that time I probably won't even remember to go online and look up the result. Not fair at all.

The did the second call around 10:45 and I was very excited because the guy wasn't there and I was going for an "inquest."

Unfortunately, there was a wrench in the works. The guy we're suing lives on the Nassau/Suffolk border and we had no way of knowing which side he was in. The woman at the court, when I filed the papers, told me that they weren't going to make that call but if the person being sued complained, they may not be able to proceed. The judge decided that we would have to file again in Nassau court, so I left without a judgement. Sadly.

So, now I will have been in Nassau, Suffolk, AND NYC Small claims court. It's a little bit of a hassle and a little bit stressful but I do like it deep down.

I got to work around 12:00 and I had SOOO much to do! I had to order the September postcard and had a pile of other random work waiting for me. I tried to crank it out as fast as possible. Re came in and paid the bills but today was not a typical day in the office... it was so intense.

For lunch Re had the shrimp pasta special and I had just a lone hamburger on a plate.

As soon as I was done with lunch I went to the Nassau court to file the papers. What a difference between that and the Suffolk ones. First, in Suffolk they have like 5 locations. In Nassau there's only one. The place is in the middle of the ghetto and it's run down and gross. It's not a pleasant experience.

I did what I had to do and then I headed back to work.

I got back at 4pm and I finished up what I had to do and left at 5.

When I got home, Dan and I put the vacuum into the pool and then, while Dan was at the gym, I used the driveway sealer stuff that we bought the other day to finish filling in all the cracks in the driveway. I hope that does some good this winter and the cracks don't get any bigger!

As I was using the last can, I really figure dot the best way to apply it so it really fills the cracks from the bottom. Of course I would come up with this method just as I was finishing!

I came inside, watched the news, and did a little more work on our invitations. Tomorrow we need to finish those up and we're planning to get them out on Saturday!

When Dan got home, we walked three miles and then I took a shower. I watched an episode of GMW and then got ready for bed.

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com