Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 09, 2015 - 10:42 p.m.
"cool pool day" or "making cookies"

Hey Journal!

This morning Dan and I got up at 9:00 and we got ready to go to breakfast with Mike and Josh! We met them at Relish at 9:30 and, when we arrived, there was a lot of activity going on across the street. From what we heard, two cars crashed into the front of the bakery! It looks like they went right through the front doors and took out a lot of stuff inside along the way.

We had a nice breakfast and caught up with Mike and Josh. It's been a while since we last saw them... I think it was in November for Mike's birthday!

When we finished, we went to Target and bought a Swiffer hand duster thing. I figured it could come in handy since I'm always using the swiffer pads for the floor to dust the dressers and furniture.

Next, we went to Home Depot. Wow.... the place was overrun with DOGS! I couldn't believe it. We were there for about 10 minutes and saw at least 5 dogs in the store. They clearly have a sign on their door saying that pets are not permitted. What's wrong with people who think they can bring their dogs (ranging in size from tiny to WOLF status) into a store!? If you want to walk your dog, take it for a walk down the street. It has no business coming to Home Depot or any other store. Worse that than, the store doesn't enforce their policy and lets this ludicrous behavior continue.

We came home after that and went for a swim in the pool. My mom came over for a bit and we had a little backyard BBQ. We had a bunch of hamburger rolls that were about to expire so we wanted to eat them before the aspergillus set in!

Later on in the afternoon, Dan and I went for a two mile walk around the neighborhood and when we got back we went back to home depot to return this stupid plunger thing that we had bought a few months ago. It was terrible. It didn't work at all, it let air in, and so it was completely useless.

We looked for ladders because I need one to fix a little crack in our siding. I was hoping to find a nice foldable one that was reasonably priced but they didn't have any.

Next, we went to Lowe's to get more driveway crack sealer. The first one we had gotten was from there and the second was from Home Depot but we really didn't like the Home Depot kind because it didn't go on as smoothly or dry as nicely. We got that and checked out their ladders while we were there. They had an even less impressive selection.

After that we went to Target to return a pair of jean I had purchased in May. The receipt claimed to have expired yesterday but they didn't give us a hard time. The jeans were so tight... I couldn't wear them. I just had them sitting around and for some reason I realized today that I should get on that and return them!

While we were there we stocked up on some food we needed and got another drying rack for our clothes. We have one but I've been trying to air dry more of our clothes to keep them from getting weird so we needed a little more space. This one is metal as opposed to the other one that's made of wood. I think it's gonna be great.

Dan made Hamburger Helper for dinner and we used the new TFAL pan we got at Price Club. It's a REALLY nice pan and the stuff comes off of it so easily! The best thing about it is how deep it is! It makes it so much easier to cook in and I know it's gonna be a million times better for rice-a-roni! We should have gotten one of these years ago!

While we ate we finished watching The Monkey's Uncle. What a strange movie. I liked it, but as I said yesterday, my entire concept of what this movie would be has been formed over the last 20-ish years from one song on a CD. The movie started off about the monkey but then changed to be about helping football players study for a test and then completely changed AGAIN to bring about building a flying machine to prove that man could fly under his own power! It was soooo strange, but I really did enjoy it.

Dan and I looked up the man who was in the movie and it's crazy how old he is now and what he looks like. I mean, the movie was made a long time ago but it's so weird to see this for the first time and the guy is young and good looking and then see him today all old!

Later, Dan and I made cookies. We bought them a while ago and figured we'd had the dough in the refrigerator for long enough! They came out really good... they were a little smaller than I had expected them to be.

Before heading upstairs for bed we watched Friday's World News Tonight which had a special tribute to Peter Jennings. Believe it or not, it's been 10 years since he passed away! I can remember watching World News when he was the anchor.... I remember ABC2000 when he celebrated the year 2000 around the world.... He really was the face and voice of ABC News. Then came Charlie Gibson, who I also really enjoyed, followed by Diane and now, my least favorite...David Muir. He just doesn't have what the rest of them did. Anyway, that's not what this was about... just wanted to remember how much of an important figure Peter Jennings was!

Anyway, look at the time! It's time for bed...Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com