Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 08, 2015 - 11:58 p.m.
"got our stamps" or "the monkey's uncle"

Hey Journal!

Today we had a pretty fun Saturday. We didn't have anything planned ahead of time and it was actually one of the first weekend days this summer that we haven't actually had something to do! We still did a lot but it was nice being able to take it a little slower!

We woke up a little after 9:00 this morning and our first order of business was to get stamps for our invitations. We thought we were going to have to go to a bunch of different post offices to find them since we had no luck last week when we tried to get them before picking Fred up at the train station. We figured we would start here in Kings Park and then go to Smithtown and Commack next. Surprisingly, they had exactly what we were looking for on the first try! NICE!

I don't think I had ever been in the Kings Park Post Office before.... or, if I have, it was when I was really little. I've passed it so many times...either on the way to the Psych Center or just going to town now that we live over here... it's such a strange looking building... but it was nice inside and I was happy that they had the stamps we needed. We got the Forever stamps with the hearts on them. Sadly, I couldn't convince Dan that we should use the "Sweet Corn" stamps. :(

For breakfast we went to Boulevards in Nesconset. We got our food and then ate across the street in the library parking lot. When we finished eating, Dan wanted to go inside to get a book. While we were there, we saw that they're having a program on learning to use your digital SLR camera and, although I know a lot about photography, I think it MAY be interesting to get a better understanding of some of the setting son my camera. The only thing I'm afraid of is that there are going to be a ton of lost old people in the class and we won't get past "this is the on switch."

After that we went to visit Dan's grandpa in the hospital. She had a triple bypass surgery about a week ago and she's still in the ICU. She's been getting better but still isn't back to normal.

The hospital charges for parking which we think is absolutely ridiculous! They are making an astronomical amount of money per day on the patients they are treating and they can't even let their families come visit them without paying for parking?! It's absurd. This is Long Island, it's not New York City. It's shameful. Anyway, Dan and I don't participate in bullshit like that so we parked at the Whole Foods down the street. It was about a ten minute walk but we take walks every day, so this was a little exercise for us!

We arrived and at first she looked very blah but after a while she was talking and was really with it. She wasn't confused or out of it at all! We stayed for a little over an hour and while we were there News 12 was on the TV. Of course, before we left, it had started looping around back to the beginning. I don't understand how anyone can watch that shit!

I tried to wash my hands in the hospital room but I couldn't figure out how to turn on the sink. I leaned over to look for a knob and I accidentally pressed a button with my leg that was on the side of the counter! It flushed something! It was so weird. It sounded like a toilet flush, but there was no toilet. So, I thought I must have flushed the sink, which I didn't know was possible! Later, a woman came in to clean the room and she pulled out a little hide away toilet from under the counter! Who knew!! So THAT'S what I flushed! I also realized that the sink is controlled by pedals on the floor.

When we left we headed home and stopped at 7-11. We got Slurpees and also a free pack of gum (today's free giveaway on the app!)

Next, we went to Target and then came home. Dan went in the pool and I did things inside the house.

At 6:30, we met Dan's parents at Outback for dinner. I got the flat iron steak and I was kinda surprised because it wasn't that good. It was chewy and it had a funky taste. I have always been much happier with the Outback Special. They changed the menu, though, so it's a lot more complicated than it used to be.

We finished with dinner around 8:00 and it was still so early! We thought about going for a walk but then we decided to go to the mall. On our way there, we passed a block party and decided to crash it! hahaha. Well, not really... we just pulled over, parked, and walked through. We figured nobody knows who anyone is walking around a block party! Everyone just assumes you're a guest of someone else! There wasn't anything really interesting going on there, though, so we departed.

We walked around the mall and then we came home and decided to watch a movie. There wasn't anything on HBO Go or Showtime Anytime that we wanted to see. It was terrible.

We decided to watch The Monkey's Uncle which I had purchased on DVD several years ago but never watched! I had ALWAYS wanted to see it....ever since I was little and got the Disney Classics CD - Red, of course, and I was waiting to watch it with Re but since that hadn't happened yer, we just watched it!

We've only watched about half of the movie so far but I had to take a shower and we wanted to get to bed so we're going to finish it tomorrow. It's good... It's not as much about the monkey as I thought it was going to be. It's funny how, from that one since, I had this whole idea of what the movie would be! So far, the main character has trained his chimpanzee to do things that people can do and his college wants him to help football players learn stuff for their exams.

Anyway, we're off to bed now and in the morning we're going to breakfast with Mike and Josh!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com