Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 26, 2015 - 10:59 p.m.
"unknown"

Hey Journal!

Well, today was a pretty normal day at work and I didn't have anything special to do, so I planned to take it easy and try to see if I could get my new computer up and running in some way that I could deal with. I tried a little in the morning and gave up when I got overwhelmed with actual work.

The big news of the day was that crazy shooting in Virginia. I know we hear about all sorts of shootings on the news but for some reason this one really makes me upset. I watched the actual live TV footage and it was crazy, but from that footage alone it wasn't absolutely clear what was going on and it also wasn't graphic. There was a lot left to the imagination, and so I think it didn't really affect me as much as what I'm about to talk about. Later on in the day, we watched the video that was filmed by the shooter -- It was so creepy, so eerie. The way he just walked up to them, the way they didn't notice. I mean, as a new reported you have to focus on what you're doing and you probably have people talking in your ears and, when you're out in public places like that, I'm sure you get a lot of people coming up to you and saying or doing weird things, that you kinda have to block that out and keep going on. It's just unreal seeing that video. I watched it twice in the office with Dan's mom, and then DAn's dad wanted to see it. The third time I had to close my eyes. It was that disturbing.

It's weird because, with all the violence you see on TV every day, and the videos like this you see... there's something so terrible about this one that just gets me.

In other news, work was pretty quiet today. Dan's mom got a complaint e-mail about the outing on Monday and it was pretty crazy. There were a lot of random complaints about the day and I think that it's quite possible that the woman who wrote the letter is a little bit crazy and a little bit of a complainer, but I also think that there SOME truth to what she wrote. The things she complained about may not have been the end of the world but they probably are areas where we can improve and I think a little more oversight of the staff would really help to keep things polished.

Anyway, for lunch today I just had one of my Costco Shakes instead of ordering anything. I think, even though I'm relatively thin, I need to eat less fatty stuff all day. The food I have at work is good but it's not the healthiest -- even though I've cut out fries and stuff that's obviously bad, but pasta with butter isn't good all the time, either

I left work at 5:00 and when I got home I watched the news. I also spent some time cleaning up around the house. Dan went to the gym and then when he got back we went for our Walk Wednesday with Kristen. She came over and we walked around our neighborhood and planned a breakfast at the Professor's diner this weekend! Unfortunately, Relish will be closed for "vacation" this week and apparently a new coat of paint. We figured we should show our face with the Professor and see how he's doing!

After our walk, Dan and I took the robot out of the pool. We ran it once this morning for a 2.5 hour cycle and then I turned it on again when I got home from work. The pool was looking good. That really was an amazing purchase.... we definitely needed it. I couldn't imagine having to vacuum the pool several times a week.

Anyway, we came inside, showered up, and then spent the rest of the night trying to get the place in good shape for tomorrow's BBQ.

I made myself a TV dinner and we watched The Carbonaro Effect before bed!

I came up here to write my journal and I started to watch the live feed of WBDJ online. It's so crazy to see these people on the news trying to explain something that just happened to them... something so close to them. It's also such a contrast from the news we get here in general... it's such a different vibe.

Now it's time to get some sleep. Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com