Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 27, 2015 - 11:32 p.m.
"three stories"

Hey Journal!

So, I have three main stories for you today. First is that today was the 1 year anniversary of moving into our house! We closed on the 22nd of August last year and then we got the keys on the 27th! I can't believe that it's been exactly one year and that one year ago tonight we were cleaning out our new house and making plans for moving in. Wow. Time flies!

We've had such a great first year here and I am so happy with how things worked out. It really was the perfect house for us!

Since it's been a full year, I can also say that I can't believe we haven't gotten around to painting the dining room! Sheesh! We really should get on that. The sooner we do it, the longer we will have to enjoy the work we've put into it!

The second story is about my cousins coming over tonight for a BBQ, but I'm going to hold off on that for a minute and skip to the third.

The third is kinda sad. Someone who Dan and I knew died last night. It's weird because we didn't really know him well. His name was Justin. We had only seen him in person 2 times, neither of them lasting more than 10 minutes, I don't think. He was a friend we met on MySpace and he lived in Virginia.

One time, our other friend JRo came to visit Washington, DC and Dan and I went with JRo and his mother all the touristy things. That night, we went out to a bar and Justin, the guy who passed away, was working the door - so random, we had no idea! - He recognized us from MySpace... we recognized him, and couldn't believe what a coincidence it was! Incidentally, he let Dan and I in for free and then charged JRo!

So, I can truly say that I didn't know him well at all but I had always followed his life on Facebook and saw that he moved to Indiana (I think) a few years ago. I even think he had run for some public office there at some point. I just think of him as a fun person who was really nice to us, even though we never really got to know him.

Anyway, from what I have been able to gather, he went into the hospital a month or so ago for a procedure to correct a problem with his heart. He had some complications with that procedure and was having a very difficult recovery. I don't think he ever woke up from it. They tried all sorts of things, and sadly, last night, he passed away.

I wonder if I can go on MySpace and see if we ever had any conversations. I don't know if I even remember my password. (Update: I did not remember my password, but after resetting it I found that MySpace deleted all conversations prior to 2013. So, no.) Anyway, over the past few weeks as all this was happening, I was reading stories that people posted about him on Facebook and they were all just so heartwarming and sweet. I know people aren't going to say anything negative at a time like this but it wasn't just the usual fluffy stuff, they were really nice, deep, heartfelt stories.

Anyway, I just feel very moved by the whole thing.

This morning I got up and headed off to work and I spent the first part of the day trying to get windows XP set up on my new computer. I tried the Virtual Box route, again, because I wanted to see if I could live with using that for the POS programs and actually use a Windows 8 computer for everything else. I mean, it's not 100% out of the questions but it would be amazing if I could run Windows XP on the whole computer.

Today was Re's last day for the summer and before school starts again. She came in and did all the closes and then we had a little popcorn party / Famous Amos cookie party send-off for her! She'll be back for one last hurrah on Labor Day weekend, and then it's back to school for her and I will be scrambling to figure out HOW to keep up with all the daily closes and the bills. Not fun.

I left work today at 4:30 because I wanted to get home and prepare for our BBQ tonight. On the way I stopped at the Post Office to drop off some stuff for work and then I got home and finished cleaning up, prepared the corn on the cob, and then Dan and I waited for everyone to arrive.

We told them to come around 5:30 or 5:45 but they said they would be here around 6. Nobody got here until about 6:45 so Dan and I were just sitting around waiting for them!

Mike, Teresa, and Christen were the first to arrive. Since Mikey and Teresa had never seen our house before we gave them the grand tour! It's been a while since we've given the tour so we were a little rusty! We used to have it all down pat and said the same lines and stuff! We were not as polished this time!

We also showed them The Price is Right episode because they didn't even know anything about it! Nobody had told them!

One Jackie, Dan, and the kids arrived, we went outside and hung out on the deck. We made drinks -- Strawberry Daiquiris... and then Dan tried to make Pina Coladas and the blender stopped working! The motor just stopped. At first we figured it needed to cool down for a bit but it's completely out of commission! It never came back.

We took orders for dinner.... the menu was Turkey Burgers, Hamburgers, Cheeseburgers, and Chicken Sausage. We did an EXCELLENT job of timing everything so it was all ready at once. I'm actually really impressed and surprised that we managed to pull that off so seamlessly! I made the corn on the microwave and it came out great! It's so much easier than boiling it and I think it tastes even better!

The food was good, I had originally planned to have two turkey burgers, corn, and a chicken sausage...but I just couldn't make it to the second turkey burger.

We had a fun time and hung out for a while! Dan had to leave at about 8:30 because he was working tonight. Luckily, we're pretty much on his way to work, so that worked out well. Everyone else stayed until about 9:30 and then headed home.

Dan and I cleaned up and then, even though it was a little late, we took a walk. I really wanted to make sure I reached my activity goals... I've been doing so well this week!

We took an abbreviated walk, but it was still about 30 minutes. Now we're home, showered up, and getting ready for bed!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com