Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

August 20, 2015 - 10:53 p.m.
"replies are coming in" or "dining with froggy - again"

Hey Journal!

It's pretty late for a Thursday night but we had a lot of stuff to do this evening after work so I am telling myself that in relation to the things we had to do, it's actually pretty early to be getting to bed!

When I got to work this morning I was hoping for a normal, quiet morning and I was sure that there would be some calls about the dues to disturb the peace, but that's not at all how it went down. I turned on my monitor and the computer was frozen. It was annoying, but that happens, so I turned it off and turned it back on. The only problem was that it didn't come back on. As soon as Windows started to load, it would crash and give me the blue screen!

I did a little research on the error codes and I used the Recovery Console to run CHKDSK on it. It worked, and I was able to get into Windows, but it was also about 40 minutes in by now. It seemed like things were doing better but my desktop was frozen in a weird way. It would come on, and I could click the icons and open up programs, but I couldn't rearrange the icons. (Not that I really needed to....) Also, when I minimized programs they wouldn't go to the taskbar, instead they would float on top. I had problems with a bunch of other weird, quirky things, too so I needed to find a fix.

I used the installation CD to "Repair" Windows which I had never done before. It took a long time and basically re-installed the whole operating system. I've only done this after formatting a drive, so I was really curious if anything would be there when it came back. To my surprise, it was all the same, but it worked!

I had my computer up and running again by about 11:30 which is a long time to be without a computer when EVERYTHING I needed to do for work depended on it!

There are still a few residual problems, though. First, I can't open PDFs. Second, I can't install or uninstall any programs. Weird. Third, every time I right click this "Windows Installer" opens and then disappears. It also has some other quirks that I am not happy about.

I have no idea what's going on but the best I can tell, my hard drive is failing miserably. I've decided that even though I was able to recover somewhat from this, I need a new computer. It's sad because I love my computer and I hate setting up a new one to be like the old one, but let's face it, I use my computer more than any other person at the golf course and my performance at work is directly linked to being able to access things quickly and efficiently. I ordered a nice SMALL Dell computer that's very comparable to what I have now. I only hope that I can install XP in a partition and boot to it. I want nothing to do with Windows 7, 8, or 10. The biggest thing for me is that I will now I have a dual monitor system! YESSSSS. I neeeed two monitors.

Re cam in this afternoon and got all of her work done quickly. For lunch I got the French Dip and she got the Tuscan.

I headed home at 5:00 and I didn't get to watch any TV tonight.

When Dan got home we opened the mailbox to find SIX MORE REPLIES! Wahoo!! There was JC, Kristen, Jimmy, Jen B, Linda, and Re. Surprisingly, my mom's has not come and she thought I should have gotten it yesterday!

After that, Dan went right to the gym and I did some things for work. I had to refine some AdWords and Analytics stuff, change out some old code on our website, and get things in order.

Dan got home, showered up, and then we met Liz for dinner at Branchinelli's at 7:45.

We had a good dinner and I got, of course, the Spaghetti with Meatballs (4)!

Liz had some good news to share and that is that she just got a full-time teaching position! Very nice! She's going to be spending the next week setting up her classroom and getting everything figured out!

About halfway through our meal, you'll never guess who came and sat down at a table right near us! It was THE FROG GUY! Yes! The one who looks like the weird frog from Danger Mouse! This is now the fourth time that we've been at the same restaurant at the same time. First was Umberto's, followed by JT's Corner Cafe, then Lotus East, and finally tonight at Branchinelli's! It's so weird that, every time, we're not only in the same place at the same time, but they also get seated very close to us.

When you think about it, it's really a crazy coincidence that we'd always see him at DIFFERENT places and they're not that close to eachother, either. We're all over the place and so is he! If it was always the same place, I'd say we both like to go there a lot, but since it's so varied, it's pretty surprising!

I have pictures of him at all the places EXCEPT JT's.... although I think I actually MAY have one from that -- I just don't know where it is. I'll need to pinpoint the date and then go searching.

After dinner, Dan and I went to Target on our way home. We needed to get some food and also wanted to return a shirt I had purchased online. It was a cool sweatshirt but, sadly, the neck opening was a little too big and I knew that I probably would not wear it much...and even though I got it on a GREAT clearance deal, I figured it was best to get the money back before it was wasted!

Just after doing the return, Dan noticed that Joe (his friend from work) was on line buying stuff. We came over, said hi, and he and I had the most awkward handshake ever. We missed eachother's hands and only got like the fingers. So awk!

Alas, now we're home, I've showered up, and it's time for sleep!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com