Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 15, 2015 - 10:36 p.m.
"dues day 2015"

Hey Journal!

Wow! What an INSANE day! I feel like over and over again I proclaim that I've had the most intense day at work that I've ever had. Okay, today was pretty nuts... but it probably wasn't THE most intense. I think May 1st was probably worse this year, but this was a close second!

I decided to hashtag today. #DuesDay #2016Dues #DuesorDie

Maybe next year I should put those hashtags on the website. Sadly, I don't think the membership has the right sense of humor for that!

So, as I mentioned work today was pretty busy. Luckily, I had no traffic on the way to work since a lot of people are off for the Jewish holiday.

My entire day revolve around collecting people's dues for next season and trying to impress upon them how important it was to get them paid on time.

As I mentioned, this year we cut off the payment by phone options and it's really helped a lot with our advertising. Now that they HAVE to go to the website to make their payment we are able to tag them in a custom audience for our advertising to not only exclude them from receiving our ads which means we don't waste money on people we have already sold memberships to, but it also means we can create lookalike audiences based on the demographics of the people we've already identified as our target customer!

It's a real win win!

Anway, I had to run out to the post office around 4:00 to get something postmarked for Steve and normally I would have gone right home afterwards but today I was so busy I had to come back and stay till 5.

I left and headed home at 5:00, and before Dan went to the gym he and I went out in the backyard to get rid of the tree that was growing on our roof!

Dan held the ladder steady and I climbed up on the second to top rung. I pulled the tree out and, what had happened was, some dirt and moss had started to build up between the pipes for the solar heater on the roof! Eventually a tree sprouted and was about a foot tall! Ridiculous! After I got rid of that, I used the hose to spray away all of the dirt that was stuck up there to prevent it from happening again.

The dirt was spraying everywhere and go all of the side of the house and into the gutters. I washed out the gutter with the hose and then when Dan left for the gym I sprayed down the siding, too.

After the gym, Dan and I went over to help my Grandma with something. My Grandpa had to transmit the info from his pacemaker and they were having a problem with sending the info. Dan and I met there and my mom got us some Chinese food for dinner from Dragon!

I really do miss Dragon. I think Lotus East is better but Dragon is my second favorite. I wish we lived closer, or that Dragon was closer to us!

When we were finished eating we tried to do the pacemaker but it had trouble sending the data again. We had connected it to the phone jack in the dining room (which is the same place we've done it every other time.) We went upstairs to try connecting it directly to the cable modem.

If you ask me, in this day and age, the thing should have a CAT 5 connection or, even better, be wireless! What's the deal with connecting through dial-up!? Is it made by AOL?!

Anyway, it worked up there and we had no problem at all. It was perfect.

We planned to take a walk while we were there but before we left we showed my Grandma and Grandpa the pictures I had taken at Dan's brother's wedding.

We said goodbye and then we took a walk around the Nesconset territory! We wanted to do about three miles but only managed to get two in. It was getting late and Dan wanted to get home.

While we were walking, we went down the court where my bus stop used to be. As we reached the end of the court, I remembered this kid who had moved in when we were in 11th or 12th grade and I had a recollection of him having a trampoline and a ferret! Weird. I couldn't remember ANYTHING else about him at all! I texted Jen B but she couldn't remember, either. A little later in the evening she DID remember and told me their names were Jeremy and Paul. There were two of them...brothers who looked nothing like eachother. She thinks they came from Argentina. It's so weird -- I haven't thought about them in sooo long!

After our walk we headed home but stopped at the gas station because I was almost on empty. The gas at the station by Friendly's is amazingly cheap. It's 2.15 and with our rewards card it was only 2.05! The one in Commack is 2.33 and the one in Kings Park is 2.51. That's a RIDICULOUS gap! How can the gas be 2.51 at one Speedway and 2.15 at another just a few minutes away. Needless to say, I made sure to fill up at the better one!

When we got home we had to HURRY to get ready for bed. I showered up and, I had been monitoring the dues all night.... in the time I was in the shower we got over $40,000 paid on the website for the dues at work! Wow!

With that, we officially passed the amount brought in last year, but it was actually really close! Exciting, though. Glad to say we actually did it!

I made some popcorn before bed and I segregated a small portion of it an applied that seasoning we got. It definitely adds some flavor to it but it's not QUITE like the true movie theater taste! I want to order that Flavacol! Maybe once things calm down at work I can research the best place to buy it online!

Anyway, off to bed now!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com