Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 13, 2015 - 12:03 p.m.
"brian and jessica's wedding"

Hey Journal!

Yesterday was such an action-packed day! Brian and Jessica's wedding! We didn't get home until about 3am and went right to sleep...so here I am now to fill you in on all of yesterday's events!

Dan and I woke up around 9:00 and we did some things around the house before the festivities started. We put the robot in the pool because it was getting pretty dirty. I really don't think we're going to be swimming anymore for the rest of year but we didn't schedule the pool closing until the end of the month!

We watched a little TV and Dan went outside to get some yard work done. At about 12:00, I took a shower and started to get dressed and get ready for the wedding. Dan waited until the pool vacuum had finished and then cleaned it out before taking his shower.

My mom came to pick us up a little before 2:00 and we headed off. On the way, we wanted to stop at the grocery store to get Dan's brother some wine coolers that he had requested! As we were driving down Indian Head Road, I realized that I had forgotten my camera at home! UGH! We turned around and, in the interest of saving time, we dropped Dan off at the Key Food and my mom and I went back to the house to get the camera. Dan bought the wine coolers and we came back and picked him up.

We weren't as late as we thought we were because my mom's car clock is 4 minutes fast. We were okay with time. And can we just take a second to recognize how weird "wine coolers" are! I always remember them talking about them in 10th grade health class and I still don't know what they are!

So, we got to the church a little before 2:30 and went inside. Dan had to go to wherever he had to go and my mom and I went in to find a seat. They had reserved the first two rows for Dan's parents and so we sat in the third row. I think we actually could have sat further down in the second row but the way they reserved it made it seem like nobody was supposed to be there. It worked out fine that way, though.

I wanted an aisle seat so I could attempt to get some good pictures. As I was waiting for the ceremony to start the priest came over and picked up my camera. He was very impressed with it and was checking out all the settings. He was a nice guy, and a funny guy, but a little odd at the same time!

Our row was me, my mom, Aunt Amy, Uncle Alan, Alyssa, Giuliana, Henry, Sheree, Sarah, Josh, and Dan's grandma at the far end in a wheelchair. (The sprung her from the rehab place for the ceremony!)

The wedding went smoothly and Brian was able to hold back his tears for the most part. He did have a few moments where he started to cry but it was good because it helped out Dan's speech later at the reception!!

They had a full wedding mass which I think is a little much... I was happy that Lau's church portion didn't have the full mass. The whole communion thing takes so long! For the communion, my mom was the only person in my row to go up and get it so when she got back to the other side of the aisle, she couldn't get back down! She had to go all the way around!

After the ceremony everyone headed outside to wait for them to arrived. Giuliana handed out bubbles for people to blow at them as they emerged and I was one of the last to come out of the church. Last night, at the rehearsal, I had asked Guliana to save some bubbles for me and she remembered... so I was able to get some even though they had run out a while before!

The limo came to the church and Brian, Jessica, Dan, me, and Jessica's sister rode in it to the golf course for the reception. On the way, Jessica's sister asked the limo driver to take a random detour past someone's house to take a picture. She wasn't really sure of how to get there so he limo driver was a little confused! Thankfully that didn't take too long and then we were back on our way.

When we arrived, the photographer started taking photos out on the back lawn. The weather was looking a little iffy so he wanted to make sure he got some nice shots while he could. It got really really windy and it was a little cloudy, too. I took a bunch of pictures out there and got some really good ones. The lighting was perfect for the pictures and I think the wind added a little effect! Very movie star-esque!

Just as they were wrapping up the pictures it started to POUR!

The cocktail hour started at 6 and we all headed out on the patio. It was nice and dry under the awning but nobody could sit at the tables out on the lawn so we were all huddled in under the tents.

The reception was good... everything went off without a hitch. The DJ was good, the music was good, the food was good. I had SEVERAL cranberry vodkas... I really don't remember how many but it was more than I usually have...that's for sure. The dance floor was out on the patio and the only thing I would have changed was that I thought the music was a little too loud.

Dan gave his best man speech and it was really good. He did a great job presenting it and the crowd seemed to really like it. He got a lot of laughs and I think he made some people cry...so it was mission accomplished!

We mingled around and enjoyed ourselves the rest of the night. For dinner I got the steak and I was very happy with it. Elvis was our waiter. I was happy to get him since he's clearly the best!

The reception was over at about 11:00 and we didn't head out until 11:30. My mom was our designated driver and she took us back to the hotel where everyone else was staying. We saw Henry and Sheree on the way up to their room and we took the elevator with them to the exclusive 5th floor... the executive level!

We hung out in their room and I had another couple of drinks. Shortly after, Dan's parents came and joined us and then Brian and Jessica stopped by. We moved the party to Dan's parents' room a little after that and hung out a little while longer.

It was a really fun night.

We left around 2:30 and my mom drive us home. We were so exhausted but I took an Advil to stave off any potential sickness, got myself a bottle of water, and then headed to bed!

I had a pretty weird night's sleep but I'll be back later and start there!

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com