Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 06, 2015 - 11:35 p.m.
"extravaganza turns 5"

Hey Journal!

Happy 5th Extravaganza! Today was a pretty crazy day, as the Extravaganza always is. I feel like I have this feeling every year but I can't believe it's ONLY 11:35pm. It feels like it's 2am!

Dan and I got up this morning and watched a very little bit of TV before we had to get ready and head out for the big event. On the way to work, we had to stop at Price Club to get some tissues because they are going to be used as a prop in Dan's upcoming best man speech at his brother's wedding next weekend.

This coming week, Dan will be in the city for work and we didn't have any other time to go get them. While we were there, we also purchased another one of those TFAL frying pans because it's now about $4 less than we paid for it, so we're going to return the original one.

Next up, we went to JC Penney in Bay Shore. Last night Dan found the pants he wanted to buy in Kohl's but they didn't have the correct waist size. The Penney's app said that they had it in stock at the Bay Shore store, so we went there. Sure enough, they had just what we were looking for. While we were there, I decided that I should get a new pair of pants. I got the same style as Dan but in a khaki color. I haven't gotten new work pants in a LONG time and the ones I currently have are a little too baggy on me. They seems like they're JUST a little oversized and I think it's gonna be nice to actually have a nice slim-fitting pair of work pants for once. Believe it or not, I think this may be one of the first pairs of dressier pants that I've ever purchased for myself.

I found a coupon on the JC Penney app and Dan saved $10 on his and I saved $10 on mine. Yay!

We got to work a little before 12 and parked all the way down at the maintenance area. I headed down to the office to get all the things I needed to set up the check-in table outside. Re was already there... she had gotten in early to do all of the closes and work that she normally would have done all week! This past week has been incredibly busy for me, too, so I had no time to get anything done. It was super-helpful of her to come in for some extra time and prepare all the deposits!

Dan and I set up the table and I took out the box of stuff from last year. We had the cash drawer, the router, the little spikey thing, the calculator, and the scissors... all in the box and ready to go. I feel like this year, more than any other in the past, things have run soooo smoothly. It's kinda weird. Jackie said the same thing. She thought it was much easier to set up and plan. I guess it's just becoming a well-oiled machine after five years!

In previous years the fireworks guys came to set up a lot earlier than they did today. I vaguely remembered them arriving around 2 but Dan's dad thought he remembered more like 12! He was freaking out about it and by around 2:30 I was starting to get a little worried, too! I actually called the head guy and literally about a minute after hanging up the phone they were pulling in the front entrance!

I do remember them being ready REALLY early in the past so maybe they have refined their schedule, too, and realized that they needed a few less hours to set things up!

People started arriving around 1:30 and Re and I were in full swing with the wristbands. This year I made it a point to get some corn! It was excellent! I got two ears and then, later on in the day, Dan brought me a third. I couldn't eat it all so we shared it!

It was pretty calm and smooth at the table and we only had a few mini-rushes of people where the line got long.

In some ways I feel like it's getting to be a little bit old. Like, it's the same exact event every year, and for me that takes some of the excitement out of it. I don't know if I only have that perspective because I know the behind-the-scenes of it... but it just seems a little lame to me all of a sudden. I hope that's not the way other people perceive it.

Re and I closed up the table at 7:00 and we brought everything inside. We watched the Pie Eating contest and then Re headed home. She never stays for the fireworks. :(

Dan coordinated with the fireworks man and got everything set. He also took lots of pictures throughout the day.

The fireworks started at 8:15 but they really dropped the ball a bit this year. They messed up the timing so the finale started AFTER the last song. I was a little disappointed because it would have been amazing to have it timed properly. I think that it's gotten worse and worse every year. The first year it was RIGHT on time and then every year there's been a little bit of a mishap.

It was still good and I'm sure people enjoyed it... but after all the work I put in the prepare the fireworks music, I'd just like to see it go off without a hitch.

I finished up some stuff in the office and then I left around 9:00.

When Dan and I got home we went for a 2.5 mile walk so that I could hit my goals on my Watch! I actually had achieved the calorie goal already but needed to work on the exercise one, I think.

We got home, showered up, and then watched an episode of Batman!

Now we're off to bed.... It's been a long day! Dan has to head to the city in the morning and I'm a little upset that it's going to put a damper on our Labor Day Weekend but it will still be nice to have a day off!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com