Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 07, 2015 - 11:11 p.m.
"lame labor day"

Hey Journal!

Well, I'm all alone tonight because Dan is in the city all week for work! I feel like my holiday weekend was a bit of a flop. Of course, the Extravaganza always keeps it from being that great but then, today, Dan had to leave for a week of working in the city at about 11:20am, so the day was shot.

Last night I had a weird night's sleep... I kept waking up and tossing and turning. I don't usually have that.

We got up this morning at about 9:30 and we left here at about 10:00 to go pick up Joe in Commack. He and Dan wanted to get bagels for breakfast but I was craving something a little more substantial. We went to a bagel place and they got their meals and then I drove them to the Deer Park train station to catch the 11:20 train.

After that, I met up with my mom back at the Candlelight Diner and had a great breakfast! I got two eggs over medium with french fries and toast. It was just what I was craving and really hit the spot! It was cooked excellently and the price was reasonable to match... it was $5.25.

After we ate, we took a walk over to Target because my mom wanted to get a few things and i can never resist a trip to Target. I find it a little frustrating, however, to go shopping with my mom because she buys everything in the smallest quantity available and sacrifices so much unit pricing as a result! I think it's crazy because she's the first person to bend down and pick up a penny in the parking lot but she throws away way more by buying SMALL packages of tissues every week instead of a big pack once a month!

Next we went to Waldbaum's because my mom wanted to get flowers for my Aunt who just had surgery on her back.

I headed home after that and got to work on some things around the house. It was a pretty warm day out and I decided to wash my car. My car has been looking a little scuzzy and I've only washed it once in the year that I've had it. I didn't want to bake in the sun, though, so I pulled the car under the carport and washed it under there. I think I've heard that it's better to wash your car in the shade, anyway.

As I was doing that, that one pampas grass bush was really bothering me because it's leaves were all bending over the driveway and encroaching on my space. I had been suggesting to Dan that, this year, instead of bagging the clippings when we cut them down, we make them into bales and tie them up and put them out at the curb.

I decided to test my theory and so I clipped all of those annoying stalks and then layed a string down on the driveway. I plopped the grasses on top and then tied them up! It worked perfectly and I sent a picture to Dan as a proof of concept! It can be done. Now we don't have to buy 42 leaf bags like last year!

When I came inside my arms were rashy from touching that grass. It so irritating! You have to be careful.

I needed a rest for a bit so I watched a few episodes of Batman. Dan and I had started at Season 3 and were watching all the Batgirl episodes. I didn't want to watch them without him so I started at season 1. It was funny...I don't think when I watched when I was little I knew which episodes were in which order. Now, knowing that I was watching the beginning episodes, I realized some difference from later in the show. For the first few episodes, they didn't play the music when they had fights.... it was quiet and they just had the POW and BAM things.

After I regained my energy, I went out on the porch and I did a little cleaning. The siding under there was all dusty and dirty looking. The training was covered in pollen and dirt, too. I took a bucket and put some dishwashing soap in it. I used a rag and I cleaned off the entire railing and then all of the siding under the porch! I had to be careful not to use TOO much water when I sprayed it off, but it came out looking GREAT! As I was putting the hose away I noticed that the fence on the right side of the house had a greenish tint towards the bottom so I washed that off, too!

I finished that up and then went for a walk around the neighborhood. It must have been a casual walk because , even though I set my watch to "Outdoor Walk" and I had done over 45 minutes, it only registered 6 minutes as actual exercise! Unreal!

When I got home I showered up and then made myself Rice-a-Roni for dinner. I love Rice-a-Roni so much and that new pan we got is amazing for making it. Unfortunately I think I overcooked the vermicelli in the beginning and then, as a result, it was a little soggy and falling apart when I was done. :( It was still good, just not as amazing as last time.

I watched a couple more episodes of Batman and now I am off to bed! Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com