Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 10, 2015 - 6:31 p.m.
"the expo" or "torrential rains"

Hey Journal!

This morning I got up at the ungodly hour of 7:50am -- ten minutes earlier than usual on about two hours less sleep than usual and I was very reluctant to get out of bed! Dan left for his 8:00 shuttle to the Expo and I hung out in the room, savoring every last minute of not getting up.

I finally got ready, packed up my belongings, and then went downstairs. Dan said that the shuttle was leaving every half-hour from the lobby so I went down and got on! There was a really nice lady standing there to direct people. I got on at about 8:15 and the shuttle pulled away around 8:20! I was surprised they left early.

I got to the Javits Center and checked in at the front desk. I got my name badge, lanyard, and a little reusable bag. Then I headed over to the bag check area and checked my ridiculously heavy thing so I didn't have to carry it around with me.

I didn't realize it, but the Expo didn't start until 9:00 so I had to mill around outside for about 15 minutes or so. Julio was supposed to meet me there, but I texted him and never heard back. I decided if I didn't hear back from him by 9, I was going to go inside myself. A good decision seeing as he didn't text me until about 10:00 to say he overslept.

After entering, you had to walk down this long hallway with a plush red carpet. There were big video screens hanging from the ceiling all playing the same video with this enticing music. I wonder what the music was.

I met Dan in the big center area which was the hub of all the different departments. We started by checking out the imaging section. They had some really big printed images that are super high quality. They also had this 360 degree vision thing which was pretty cool. There were these people sitting around you in a circle and just staring at you before playing some music and singing. It was a little awkward and kinda creepy, but still cool. The lady told me there would be three scenes but when it switched to the next one, it just ended and I never saw the rest. :(

We checked out the cool TV cameras and video cameras and all that stuff and they had these actors that you could film using the cameras. In one, they were in a jungle scene. In the other there was a woman slowly cutting fabric. What a random job to have... could you imagine being an actor and standing there all day cutting fabric while people mill around and take pictures of you with demo cameras!? So awk!

Next, Dan and I went to his area and I got to see all that they had to offer. Joe scanned my business card with some weird machine and I got a free t-shirt. Very exciting.

Dan had to stay there and greet people so I went on the rest of the expedition myself. I checked out the medical devices, the large printers, and the 3d printers. Pretty interesting. I also stopped by the refreshment area where they had a variety of cookies (sugar and chocolate chip!)

I went to the bathroom and then headed back to say goodbye to Dan. I left at around 10:30 because I had to walk to Penn Station and take the 11:14 train to Pinelawn! It wasn't raining but VERY LIGHTLY misting as I walked there and it wasn't bad... it actually felt good.

I got there, bought my ticket, and thinking I was being all smart.... I sat in the third train car -- knowing that I don't like to sit in either of the first two cars, I would just have to move up one car to get off at Pinelawn. What a fail. It's the front two cars on the way INTO the city and the LAST TWO on the way out...so now, I had to run all the way to the back of the train -- one car at a time. It's weird because you used to be allowed to walk between the cars when the train was moving but now they have a lot of signs prohibiting this behavior (more on this later.)

The second to last time I moved my seat I was asked for my ticket and, as I searched my pockets, I realized that I couldn't find it. I looked through all of my pockets, my bags, and couldn't find it! I explained the peril of moving seats a million times and I told the guy I was going to go back and look for it at my former seat.

I asked the conductor if I should wait until the train stopped to pass between cars (since the sign says not to) but he told me I didn't have to wait...so I scurried through and thankfully, right there on the floor where I was sitting, was the ticket! Wahoo!

I hurried back and he told me that I had three more cars to go! That was just before Farmingdale so I made a run for it.

As if it couldn't get any worse, as soon it was time to get off the train it was coming down so hard....potentially one of the hardest downpours I've ever seen! In the short time it took me to get to Dan's dad's car, I was DRENCHED!

When we got back to work I had SO MUCH to do. It was insane. I mean, it was actually probably a little slower than it would have been if it had been a nice day outside but STILL.

I left work at 5 and headed home and on the way Dan's dad called to ask if I could come over and help him close his pool. It was really crappy out and still raining so I wasn't quite excited about it, but I went anyway. There was a break in the rain but as soon as we went out there it started pouring!

I got home around 6:15 and I put the laundry into the washing machine. I had so much stuff I needed to wash! Next, I took a shower and then made myself a turkey burger.

I didn't go on my walk tonight because it was rainy all night and I had a million other things to do.

We had a lot of bills that needed to be paid so I went online, did that, and now I just finished eating a TV dinner and watching an episode of Batman! It's late so I'd better get to bed. I have work in the morning and then I have to leave to pick up Dan at the train station, pick up his tuxedo, and then come home and get ready for Dan's brother's rehearsal!

Until tomorrow...

Goodnight. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com