Prev/Next


Fun for the whole Family:
www.fojin.com

"No, It's a vicious lie!"






Archives:

2014-Today
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002

September 10, 2015 - 9:07 p.m.
"nick jonas"

Hey Journal!!

So, last night Dan and I went to see NICK JONAS in the city and it was really great! We had a really fun time and it was a bit of a whirlwind since I went straight from work and then returned to work this morning!

Yesterday morning, Wednesday, I got up and finished packing my bag for the night. I way overpacked because I didn't know what I was going to want to wear or what I would need and I only later discovered that it probably wasn't the best idea because I had to lug that bag from Penn Station to the hotel.... but I digress...

I left for work and on the way I stopped at the Kings Park train station to get a ticket for later. They don't have a ticket vending machine at Pinelawn and, I'm not sure if this rule still applies or not but they used to not charge any extra for buying it on the train if the station didn't have a machine. Either way, it was easier to just stop and buy it in Kings Park.

I got to work and the day was fairly busy. We had a few conference calls with Steve to go over that whole issues I discovered last night. The true problem is that we lose money hand over fist at this event and if there's ANY opportunity to recoup these costs we need to seize them. We need to make sure it's buttoned up and we are accounting for every dollar.

I had a bunch of stuff to get finished before I left and I ate lunch early today so I wouldn't be hungry on my train ride into the city. At 2:00, we met with Jackie to go over the stuff I mentioned before and then at 3:20 Dan's dad brought me down to the train station. I waited in the little lobby and it's so weird in there... it's so lonely and abandoned! It's kinda surprising they don't just put ONE ticket machine there. I mean, why not!?

The train came at 3:35, I believe and I got in to Penn Station at 4:34.

Now was when the trouble began... I had to carry my big duffel bag all the way to the hotel which was up on 53rd Street. It wasn't bad in the beginning but got worse and worse as I went. I kept shifting it from side to side and carrying it in different positions. It was ridiculous!

I made it to the hotel a little before 5 and I was happy to see that all of that schlepping around the city made me reach my daily Watch goals! Wahoo!!

When I got to the hotel, I took the elevator up to the 32nd floor and met Dan at his room. I got settled in and I had to take a shower because I was sweating like crazy! It was a really hot day out and even though I had shorts and a t-shirt on, I was feeling pretty gross!

Once I was showered up and ready to go, Dan and I went to Chipotle for dinner. We went to the nearest one and it turned out to be the same one that we had gone to the last time we were in the city!

Next, we went to a little bar called Lincoln Park. It was just a normal place and we had a couple of drink there before the concert! They were pretty strong so I was feeling them pretty quickly!

The doors for the venue opened at 6:30 and we arrived around 7. There was a long line but it moved pretty quickly... much quicker than I had imagined it would.

The concert was at Terminal 5 which is the same place was saw Chvrches two Septembers ago! I had a great time at the Chvrches concert but I think this one was better because it just moved along a lot faster.

We found a great spot in the crowd, pretty close up, and we waited for the show to start. It started PROMPTLY at 7:30 which I was pretty impressed with. There was only one opener... BeBe Rexha! I had never REALLY heard much of her before but I had heard the song "Take Me Home" by "Cash Cash ft. BeBe Rexha!" She sang that and she also sang a bunch of other songs that were pretty good. Turns out she apparently wrote the Eminem/Rihanna song "Monster."

She was out for about 45 minutes and then they set up for the one and only Nick Jonas! I figured he'd be out at about 8:30 but i don't think he came out until around 8:50 or so. It was a little hard standing there for so long. As soon as BeBe was finished, the crowd SURGED forward and we somehow managed to get about 5 feet closer!

Around 8:30, there was a stir and everyone was looking up at the balcony. Right above us was a little reserved area on the balcony with a few tables and chairs and everyone was looking because Hillary Duff was up there! She was sitting right along the railing and every now and then she'd give a little wave down! People couldn't get enough. I tweeted a picture of her and it took off like wildfire... it got something like 2,500+ views and a bunch of retweets and favorites. It's got to be my biggest tweet... who would have thought!?

A few minutes before Nick came out, there was another stir because Jennifer Lopez appeared up on the balcony! Wow... who knew JLo was a big Nick Jonas fan! Nice.

Just before he came out, the crowd surged forward AGAIN and we wound up even closer than before.

So Nick Jonas opened up with Chains. To be honest, that and Jealous are the only two songs of his that I'm really familiar with. I liked all of his other songs, too and I thought it was a great show.

At one point, I looked up and saw JLo clapping! If she was approving, who am I to judge! lol

There's something about him... he has a good voice and he has some good moves, too. I had a really fun time and I'm really glad we went! Jealous was his "encore" song and I got a great video of the ending!

Now here's something weird -- A few months ago while I was perusing Periscope I stumbled upon this kid who did Periscopes of himself and his friends walking around NYC. I followed him because he was mildly interesting. While we were standing there waiting for Nick Jonas to come out, there was someone RIGHT next to me who looked very much like him. For some reasons I doubted it was him but now I am starting to think, more and more, that it could have been him! He actually spoke to me at one point -- when we were trying to figure out who the famous people on the balcony were.

Anyway, another one of life's mysteries.

The concert was over a little before 10 and Dan and I walked back to the hotel. We stopped at Duane Reade to get some water because we were parched. When we got back to the hotel we went to the hotel bar and hung out with Dan's work people. Today was Joe's birthday so we hung out with him for a while. Just before we went up to bed, I was talking to Joe and he was leaning on this chair. It was alright because a girl was sitting on the arm of the chair but as soon as she got up, Joe and the chair tipped over! He spilled his beer (mostly on himself but just a little on me) and then fell into me!

It was quite the scene. He claimed to have caught his balance before falling but, as I recall it, I caught him and prevented him from going completely over! In the ordeam he also managed to punch me in the chest! lol I'm weak so it was sore until I fell asleep!

Anyway, after that we headed up to bed and it was about 11:45! Dan got me a registration code to attend the expo, so I figured I'd go to that and then go in to work a little later!

That was my fun Nick Jonas day, and I'll be back a little later this evening with today's bill of fare.

Adios for now. :)


The last five:
"3 days until linda's wedding" or "ziti with meatballs (4)" - March 29, 2016
"floor waxing" - March 28, 2016
"cross-country easter" - March 27, 2016
"canadiens game" or "la cage aux popcorn" - March 26, 2016
"trip to montreal" or "cabine a sucre" - March 25, 2016

http://diaryland.com